Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 42196
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 39Ha
Persons: six or more
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 42196
Region: Tasmania

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 14, 2018

I live in a beautiful isolated Tasmanian mountain valley surrounded by world heritage rain forest and some VERY TALL Trees!(but not as big as the Hinoki trees at ALiShan in Taiwan!!)
Most of my property is a nature reserve, but I have a 2 Hectare orchard, berry garden and vegetable garden which are all useless! The possums, wallabies and birds eat most of these (trees included!) so we live on ice cream and chocolate biscuits instead! Please come and help us eat the biscuits so I don`t get too fat!
Oh, by the way, all the Wallabies are called "Skippy" and they don`t mind a bit of apple or banana occasionally.
I have been a host with WWOOF (Willing Workers On Organic Farms) for 12 years and I have had more than 1000(Yes!!!you read it correctly!) fabulous, lovely, wonderful volunteers stay with me. Many of them have come back for second, third…or even 10th visits!!!!!
Work can be really diverse including tree planting, mowing grass, helping to install forest fire water sprinklers, interpreting Chinese, Japanese and Korean documents into English for me, helping to insulate the house, reading Tolstoy`s WAR AND PEACE to the chickens, weeding foxgloves, foxgloves... and even MORE foxgloves from the nature reserves, firewood collecting wood splitting and some construction eg Bridge!!. I show everyone how to use tools and I am patient with people about how to do jobs you never dreamt you would ever do. For example: I will show you how to use an axe properly and my champion wood splitters are all girls!
These same girls (mainly from Japan, Germany, Taiwan and China) also built a 20 metre bridge over a river....which we just rebuilt after a HUGE flood last year!!!(see photos)
Don`t worry if your English isn`t so good, I will speak slowly and plainly for you. I am very patient with people and I can show you many work skills. I love my volunteers…I don`t expect miracles…but they often give them to me.
I have a piano and you are free to play it
There is internet near my house which you can use.
If you love cooking you are welcome to cook!
I also take my volunteers to climb mountains, see waterfalls, beautiful caves, a wildlife park to see Tasmanian Devils and to beautiful beaches ,even to a free chocolate tasting factory !
I do ask that my volunteers come with travel insurance that will cover their activities on my property.
I prefer if you can stay for two weeks.
Work can vary from day to day, even within one day. Hours can also vary greatly, but certainly some days are very easy (like going shopping!) and other days can be quite hard (like mixing cement!) Don`t worry, if it is all too hard, I can give you easier jobs.
I can speak a little Nihongo, Korean, German, French, and Mandarin! But there are usually volunteers with me who can help!

Helpx`s stupid computer won`t type Mandarin or Hangeul or Nihongo! But where there is a will, here is the way!

Huan ying lai dao John de jia, zhe li zuo luo yu bei ta bei yi qun shang huan rao, ji hu ren he shi ke dou ke yi kan dao yuan sheng xiao dong wu, huan jing fei chang you mei he qing xin. John shi yi wei fei chang he ai you ke ai tao qi he hen you nai xin de lao xian sheng, hai you bu xu yao dan xin ni de yin wen bu hao huo zhe bu hui gong zuo, John hui xi xin jiao dao bu yan qi fan, ren mei yi wei lai fang de peng you dou you hui jia de gan jue. Xi wang zhi shao ke yi dai liang zhou yi shang.

Korean :
Anyunghaseyo! Jaemitnun John zipe oseyo!
Urizibeun segye munhwayusan urimziyuke issuyo. Daebubuni jayunboho guyukiziman guasuwongua berry, chaesobatdo issuyo.
Pusssoms, wallabies, grigo saega guailgua chasol da mukusu woorin chocowa guajal mukko salayo. Naega numu tungtunghaejiji ankae waseo gachi mukuyo.
Jinan 12nyun dongan 800myung isnange numnum mutjin bongsajadele danyugassuyo. Grigo manun saramdele dubun, sebun, yulbunkajido dasi wayo!
Juro jungwonul gakugo guailel tago namulul simgo jangjakel paeyo. Bohoguyuke japcho popgo dakege tolstoylel ilgujugo darilel jiuyo.
Yunguga seotuleodo gukjungmalayo. Jega chunchunhi shipge malhalgyeyo. Hankukmaldo jogm halsu issuyo. Dayanghan gisulel garchu julgeyo.
Junun bongsajadelel saranghaeyo. Gdlege gijukel baraji anjiman jongjong gijukel jundapnida.
Jun pianoga issusu chudo joayo. Yorilel joahandamyun yorilel haeyo!
Junun je bongsajadlel sanina pokpo, yepn donggulgwa gongwone daeryugayo. Tasmanian Devilgwa arumdaun badalel bogo gongjjaro chocolateeul matbolsu itnun chocolate gongjangdo gayo.
Manilel daebihae bongsajadeli bohumi ismyun jokessuyo. 2ju isang mumulsu issmyun jokesuyo.

Jhon wa totemo sutekina hito desu.
Wa tashi ga deatta hito no nakade ichiban ochame de ai ni afureteite, soshite desu.
Jhon no iedenoshigo to wa, iewotatetari, makiwo wattari, hontouni iroirona kotowo shimasu.
Wakaranai totoga areba Jhon wa ichi kara teineini Yasashiku oshiete kureru no de nanimo shinpai wa irimasen.
Koko de no keiken wa anata no takara ni narudeshyou.
Zetai ni Tasmania to Jhon wo suki ni narukoto machigai na shi!
Jhon no reizouko wa nihongo wo shyaberi masu.

Français :
Je vis au milieu des forêts et montagnes de Tasmanie, entouré par des « World Heritage Forests », et la plupart des forêts de ma propriété sont des réserves naturelles.
J’ai un petit verger d’arbres fruitiers ainsi qu’un jardin potager.
J’adore avoir des helpers restant quelque temps chez moi. J’aime avoir 4 à 6 personnes… plus de fous on est, plus on rit !
Le travail ici est assez tranquille. J’essaie de faire en sorte qu’il y ait de fréquentes pauses cafés, et que le travail se déroule dans la bonne humeur. Je suis très patient avec les gens et je vous apprendrai à faire des tas des choses come couper du bois ou encore utiliser des outils pour la construction.
J’ai été un hôte “Willing Workers on Organic Farms (WWOOF)” durant 12 ans, et eu plus de 600 volontaires restant chez moi. Grâce à cela, je me suis fait de nombreux amis.
J’amène mes helpers en voiture découvrir des parcs d’animaux sauvages, des montagnes, des cascades d’eau, des plages, des usines à chocolat, ou encore des fermes de miel.
C’est pour moi un honneur de recevoir des volontaires. Ici, vous serez traités avec considération.


Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use