Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 4222
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Venthone (VS)
All Year:
Area (ha): 18
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 4222
Country: Switzerland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 11, 2017

We live in the French part of Valais in Switzerland and we love to host and to meet new people. We are a married couple (Daniel & Jacqueline) with five children. Only our son Noah (23) from our 5 kids (between 20 and 29 years) live still in our home. We speak French at home. We also speak some English and German.

We have chicken, rabbits, horses, some sheep and two cats. In fall we produce apple juice and grape juice for our customers with theirs fruits. We have a big vegetable garden and many green plants in our house. We also sell apple juice and others agricultural and farming products. We always do some renovations in our old house from 1920 with three independents floors with a beautiful view to our town Sierre, the valley and to the mountains.

You will help us mostly on the farm (the work is different all throughout the year and depends of the season) and in the house (housekeeping and cooking). If you want to come for a stay, we are looking forward to host folks who will love to work on a farm for more then two weeks. We offer a stay to people who are motivated for this kind of work. Would you love to learn more about farm life?

We ask you to have good shoes (like hiking or trekking shoes - no sneaker) for a good security at work. You should have your own personal health insurance in case of accident and sickness. If you just want just to be host for cheap holidays without any interest and motivation for agriculture work, so please do not write us. Would you like to meet us? So write us your skills, working experiences, motivations for a stay in our farm and family. Tell us the dates you are available to come to us?

We offer you a nice bedroom, accommodation and healthy food. We do not eat meat every days. Our house has three independent floors. On one floor we have rooms for one or two person. So we can host couple or lonely person. On this floor you can use a nice living-room with a balcony. You can use our laundry (wash machine and dryer).

Saturday and Sunday you are off for exploring our nice area and some free time during the week (one day ore two half days). During the week, we eat breakfast at 7 am and lunch at 12:30 pm. After lunch there is allways some time to reste (for siesta).

We love open-minded, independents and autonoms volunteers for our simply way of life. Longer stays until six/eight weeks are possible. WE DO NOT ACCEPT VOLUNTARIES FOR LESS THAN TWO WEEKS. We also welcome people from other organizations (Caritas, Agriviva, CS, ...) in our house. Sometimes there stays two or more people at the same time with us by different organizations. People by HelpX, who come to us, enjoy this.

Daniel also works as a gardener and made landscaping for these clients. Monday, he works as a socio-professional master for a institution as a gardener with mentally handicapped persons in Sion. Daniel is French and you will work with him outdoor. Jacqueline's mother tongue is german. She has a fulltime job.

It is very easy to get to Sierre / Siders (VS) by train or by car. In Sierre you will take the funicular (It is like a small cable train and please take not the bus) up to the station Venthone. By the Stop Venthône is a 3 minutes walk to our house. The house is on your left walking towards the West. Venthône is accessible in two hours by train from Geneva and in three hours by train from Zurich. Hitchhiking works well and easily in Switzerland. Co-voiturage in english carpooling can work too, see this link

You will have many opportunities to walk, to hike and to visit others places by train or by bus, like Montreux, Sion, Crans-Montana, Zermatt, ... Sierre is a nice town with a little lake and with many cultural activities and free concerts in summer, art-exhibitions, ...). We will love to give you advice for nice visits to do in our area. We will not organizing your free time.

More pictures and informations on couch-surfing too, see the link in the profile.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use