help exchange   Host 42340
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Ferny Creek
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.5
Persons: 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 42340
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 1, 2015

If you are planning on coming to the Dandenong Ranges (Upper Ferntree Gully, Ferny Creek, Sherbrooke Forrest, Sassafras, Olinda, Mount Dandenong) to see the beautiful sights, here is an opportunity to stay in a five star rated Homestay/BnB for free.

We have numerous jobs to do around the house such as weeding, lawn mowing, hedge trimming, etc and a few projects such as excavating and building a sleeper wall, paving work, building a deck, fixing the chicken pen, painting and other general maintenance.

Most of the work is reasonably physical so we are looking for a guy or a couple.

We are offering free accommodation and three meals a day in return for 4 hours work per day, per person. You can stay for just a day or up to two weeks. 

We are in one of Victoria's premier tourist regions and we are often booked in advance so if you wish to come you will need to give at least two weeks notice of your requested arrival. Immediate room availability is unlikely except in winter.

As your stay will possibly be at the expense of a fee paying guest we expect a good work ethic.

There is plenty to see in the Dandenong Ranges on your free time - especially if you like a bush walk, visiting local parks and gardens, small villages or taking in the flora and fauna. Of course you are also welcome to just chill-out or you can learn the skill of felt making right where you are staying (subject to arrangements).

Shown below are specific details if you are interested and considering contacting us with your details and proposed travel times.

Administration Stuff
If we agree on dates for your visit you would be expected to arrive in the morning/afternoon to allow time to show you around and discuss whatever jobs are on the priority list at that time.

If you decide that the work or environment isn’t to your liking at any time during your stay we will have no problem with you being honest and we will make reasonable plans for you to head off either that day or the following morning.

Of course we will have the same option to advise you if we don’t think it is working for us and we will make reasonable plans for you to head off either that day or the following morning.

I will be working with you but my ability is sometime restricted as I have health issues that cause me to tire quickly on some days.

Please advise if you have any health issues or if you are taking any regular medication. It won’t be an issue with you coming to stay – we just want to know so that if you have any problems while with us we can respond appropriately.

We can discuss work hours when you are here. We are flexible and you can work say 4 hrs in the morning then have lunch and then have the afternoon off to rest or explore, or you can work a full 7-8 hours one day and take the next day off completely.

House Rules - non-negotiable
No smoking is in the room under any circumstance – but you can smoke outside.

If you are staying for more than a few days you are welcome to have some alcohol in your room – you are not welcome to be drunk.

We don't have a problem if you enjoy an occasional joint – but NO other drugs are allowed on the premises and you will be asked to leave immediately at any sign of them.

The room is expected to be kept clean and tidy - by you. You are sharing our home - not a hotel.

We have a low tolerance of sexism, elitism, racism or any other 'ism' – but swearing is fine.

You will find us both honest and open at all times - we don't like surprises - life is simple, comfortable and generally quiet (unless the grandkids come around). 

The room has its own little kitchen facility if you need it but we would expect that you will be eating with most of the time (breakfast / lunch / dinner). Joni is a good cook – I cook occasionally – and you are welcome to share the cooking if you would like to.

If you are eating with us we will provide all your meals for free and you can access whatever we normally have on offer, if you want to eat alone you will have to cater for yourself.

We are located in a beautiful environment and there are many tourist attractions in the area. The region is called The Dandenong Ranges – the internet will give you plenty of info – and we live very close to Sherbrooke Forest although in an amazing pocket with a view as far as the eye can see across Port Philip Bay.

We are not very close to Melbourne (about 40km, 60-70 minutes by train and the station is 5 minutes away by car – we can drive you to the station and pick you up if not too late).

There is some live music and a few pubs within 5-10km but not much to do in the immediate vicinity in the evenings.

There is a bus line nearby but we would recommend walking to nearby villages if you just want to see the surroundings (nearest 3.6km, the next one is 6.2km).

If you want to do some sightseeing in the area we are happy to drop you off and pick you up and occasionally join you if you would like.

This may be information overload but we would like any prospective visitor to know what to expect, and what is expected of you. We'd like you to enjoy your visit to Australia and make the best use of your time.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use