Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 42474
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Nubeena
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1/2 acre
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 42474
Region: Tasmania

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 8, 2018

Hi,
My name is Ronnie. I live on the edge of a Bay in the South of the beautiful Tasman Peninsula with a lovely view across the Bay to the village of Nubeena. Nubeena is mainly a farming, fishing community and tourist destination. I am about 5 min. drive to shops, Pub, RSL Club, Medical Centre, Pharmacy, Cafes and Post office. There is a beautiful beach in a crescent shaped lagoon about 5 mins. walk around the corner from me and plenty of other beaches within driving distance. There are many tourist attractions within easy driving distance, including the Port Arthur Historical site,Tasmanian Devil Park , surfing beach, historic coal mines, remarkable cave etc..
I can offer accommodation in the form of a small 3 room cabin which is about 15 metres from the house with a view across the Bay. The unit contains a double bed and 1 single bed, with table and chairs in the 3rd room. There is no toilet or shower in the unit,but there is an outside flush toilet about 10 metres away and a shower, bath and toilet in the house. The unit has tea and coffee facilities, TV, DVD player, plates and cutlery, and a refrigerator.
I would prefer a couple without children, or 1 adult, and would provide a cooked evening meal, morning/afternoon tea and snack. Any other meals you have to provide for yourself and can use the cooking facilities in the house if required. I also have wi-fi NBN internet connection and good mobile reception which can be accessed from the cabin.
In return I would expect about 2-4 hours work a day ( this can be negotiable ). Duties would include general gardening, weeding etc., some painting, cleaning gutters and general jobs around the property.You would have to have your own vehicle as there are no busses, or taxis here. I have a Ute but it only has one passenger seat. If one person, I'd be happy to take them around the local sites if they chip in for petrol. I'm a pretty good cook and can offer a variety of meals. I am not a vegetarian though.
I am originally from Scotland and have lived and travelled over most of Australia and many trips overseas including 3 separate years on Antarctic Expeditions. I am easy going with a good sense of humour and enjoy meeting people from different backgrounds and cultures and exchanging views and experiences especially if they enjoy a wine or a beer on the deck or around a bbq. I live alone and have a bad back and hence the need for someone to give me a hand with the duties listed above. Any applicants must be fairly fluent in English. As I am looking for a bit of company and conversation as well as some help, please don't have a mobile or I-pod glued to your hand. Photos :- The house, cabin (Haggis Hotel), View across bay to Nubeena, White Beach around the corner.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use