help exchange   Host 42481
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 5
Persons: 1
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 42481
Country: Austria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 9, 2019

Hi Everybody!

Are you proactive (meaning you see if something has to be done, and not waiting until we bring the plates and serve the food)?
Are you willing to live between dogs and horses?
You get no panic attacks when you get dirty?
Can you stand a child that has its own mind?
Do you know how to use a brush, a broom, a sponge, a dish washer, and some other useful tools...
If all answered "yes", continue!

Or are you waiting to be served,
and permanently, also during eating, looking at your mobile?
Locking yourself in your room until called for Lunch?
Like to live in your room for 4 weeks without asking for a vacuum cleaner?
If all these answered "No" then please continue reading....

We have several dogs and a small horse stable in the so called "Weinviertel" (wine quarter), east of Vienna. We currently have approximately 10 horses here, some of them belong to us, but we are also offering horse accommodation. Christine is doing therapy with handicapped children with the horses, as well as giving riding lessons. There are also 8 sheep and one cat.
We have 13 dogs in total (currently plus 4 puppies) as we are active members in the Austrian rescue dog organization, training some of them for earthquakes and other emergencies. The other dogs are doing dog scooting and going out with a dog sledge, as well as dog hiking being part of our sports. We just bought a new dog cart for dryland mushing and are now trying this experience.
Our helpX guests can join and help when we are training the dogs. In fact, this dog sport is currently the thing where we invest the most. We also would need a dog handler in our house in Sweden (Lappland) in winter time.
Riding is per se not part of the helpx program we offer, but if you are an experienced rider we will be happy to have you join our riding trips out in the surrounding or helping training the horses. Also trips to Vienna should easily be possible as the distance to Vienna is only about 40 minutes and we go there quite often. The Weinviertel is near the border of the Czech republic and Slovakia, the border is only 15 minutes from us. The Weinviertel is famous for its Wine (surprise!) and lovely surroundings, a very special area of Austria.

For staying with us you would be kindly asked to assist with the horses, working in the garden, helping with the dogs, and we promise the work is not hard as we have the necessary technical equipment. All the rest is up to you and can be negotiated. You will have a room with separate house entry, including shower and toilet. WLAN is available in the main building. It would be expected to join the family during meals etc.; we try to integrate our guests. Food is included, of course.
Christine is psychologist; Myself, Alexander, I am a lawyer, veterinarian and historian. We have an 8 years old son, so if you can perhaps sometimes also look after him for a short while when we are e.g. riding the horses, this would be appreciated very much. We are bilingual, English and German, and we also speak some French, at least we understand it. If you do not want to get close to the horses, but you like our son and you just want to look after him and the house, this would be another option (but it depends on our son, we will have to ask him :-))

Otherwise - this is a farm! It can be dirty sometimes! You need to have good shoes, not only sneakers and your sunday best. There is no mud, but nevertheless the horse area and our garden is not a golf course. Dogs will perhaps jump up on you, if they are excited. It even rains sometimes here, although not so much in summer! Please be prepared. Just to be sure, because we had some funny experiences with our guests.
And, at last: This is a non smoking household. We do accept smokers, but smoking in the horse surrounding is absolutely not permitted (hay!!), also not in the house or in the guest room. If you can accept that: Welcome.

We ask for a minimum of three to four weeks to stay, as otherwise we always train people and then as soon as you are integrated you will leave again.

If you want to come and spend time here in Austria or in Sweden with us, please contact us! Please feel free to ask any questions, also Skype is possible!

Languages: English, French, German

Please also visit what is near to us:

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use