Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 42497
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

New Plymouth
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): a quarter of an acre
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 42497
Region: Taranaki

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 11, 2018

**Booked until Sept 26th**

Kia Ora!

We are a friendly family of three, with our exchange student, a dog and two cats, living on a quarter of an acre. Jarrod works at NZ Post, Nikki teaches preschool Montessori, our boys are overseas. Jarrod and Nikki met on a year exchange in Sweden and have enjoyed hosting students from around the world over the past twenty years. We continue hosting students.

This house was the first property to be built on Budleigh Street in the late 60's and was therefore allowed to sit within Shepard's Park reserve, which surrounds us on three sides. We purchased this property three years ago and are slowly working at restoring the gardens. (Apparently, Florence, the previous owner, was a tremendous gardener but in the past ten years the garden escaped her care.) We are working at planting an organic veggie garden, and fruit trees. We would also like to develop a 'food forest' and 'tropical garden' to complete our sustainable garden design.

We are trying to recycle and reuse as much materials as possible, and use environmentally friendly and sustainable practices. Our current projects around the property are; clearing and rebuilding terracing, mulching, and lots of weeding the garden. Rainy day or winter indoor project is scraping paint from window sills to restore the beautiful native rimu timbers of the house.

Our property overlooks the public Community Orchard which leads to the scenic Huatoki Walkway, one of many beautiful walkways in New Plymouth. We are about 30min walk to the ocean and 30min drive to the mountain. We are centrally located, although sitting within the reserve it is a quiet and peaceful setting.

We are a smoke-free home. The guest room has one queen sized bed, dresser and desk. We have unlimited high-speed fibre internet. Linens provided, and use of washing machine. Meals are provided although if you prefer to provide your own meals in exchange for less work, that is negotiable.

We are just beginning our organic journey, and would love to have helpers keen to share their talents and ideas and knowledge. (If gardening is not your thing, housework [cleaning, cooking, laundering] is also acceptable. We look forward to hearing from you!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use