Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 42634
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 49,000
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 42634
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 15, 2015

We own and operate a station, breeding beef cattle and merino sheep & wool production. We are a husband and wife (with grown children and grandchildren). The property is 49,000 hectares and our other station 65km away is 30,000 hectares.
We are 70km from our nearest town, Windorah which is very small and 180km from Quilpie (pop 500), which is our business centre. Twice weekly mail service brings groceries, feed, spare parts etc. Our closest neighbour is another beef cattle station 30km away. A larger town Longreach (pop 3,000)is 330km north. There the Qantas Museum and Stockman's Hall of Fame are 2 of the attractions. Eromanga, the furthest town from the sea anywhere in Australia is just 150km away.
We have rural power (electricity), telephone and limited internet. There is NO mobile phone coverage.
Accommodation would be in the main house with us where all meals and washing would be provided, but help with this would be required. (ie washing up, hanging clothes, keeping your room clean & tidy)
As it is very hot and we are currently in severe drought conditions there will not be any stock handling happening at present and station work at this time of the year involves feeding sheep; checking, repairing and improving stock water; checking, repairing and improving fences; general maintenance on vehicles and the homesteads and gardens.
We require a definite non-smoker. A driver's license is essential. Building and mechanical experience would be an advantage but NOT essential.
Helpers would be a part of our family and welcome to attend any outings/functions we are going to.
I stress: it is HOT, DRY and a very harsh place to live at present - but when it rains things spring to life.
We have beautiful sandhills, wide open spaces, plenty of bird life, a squillion kangaroos, and a passion to show anyone and everyone our beautiful, yet harsh, Outback Queensland and our busy yet idealic lifestyle.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use