Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 42675
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 10.5 (26 acres)
Persons: 1-2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 42675
Region: Queensland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 24, 2017

July 2017 - We're sorry but we are not looking for anyone at the moment. If you would like to stay and pay, please read last paragraph.

We purchased our beautiful property just over 2 years ago and are looking for people to help us with some gardening, weeding, stick picking, general outdoor maintenance and maybe a little housework. I work at a school during the week, while Don maintains and works on our property.

We require 4 hours work a day, 5 days a week (Monday-Friday and weekends off), though we can be flexible with the working hours, so you can work full days and have other days off or work mornings with afternoons free etc.

At the moment we are mainly looking for helpers for outdoor, manual work - stick picking and clearing/cleaning up bushy areas, weed spraying, a bit of fence repairs, general outdoor work etc. Now is the perfect time to be working outdoors in Queensland. Our cooler months are spectacular.

We will supply food for your breakfast and lunch but we will cook the evening meal. If you like to cook a meal, we can discuss it. Hard to get me out of the kitchen lol.

Your accommodation is a fully self-contained cabin next to a beautiful waterlily-filled pond and an outdoor fireplace to spend the evening around, if you choose. This is only 20m from our house so our door is always open and you are more than welcome to spend spare time with us.

The self-contained cabin has a double bedroom, a single bed, lounge with large screen TV, dining area, kitchen with fridge/freezer, microwave and all kitchen amenities, bathroom, shower, toilet, and a front verandah.

Howard is a lovely village (and is 5-10 minutes walk from our property) in the hinterland of Hervey Bay. Hervey Bay is 25 minutes drive and you can catch a boat to visit the awesome humpback whales (seasonal) or catch a ferry over to Fraser Island. We are only 20 minutes drive from Maryborough, 20 minutes drive from Childers and 50 minutes drive from Bundaberg, so, while having the country feel, we are very central to lots of interesting tourist spots. The closest beaches are Burrum Heads and Toogoom, both of which are about 15 minutes drive.

Our property is across the road from a 9 hole country golf course. We have golf clubs available for your use. We have a couple of kayaks if you would like to paddle around our dam. We also have fishing rods and crab pots if you would like to try your luck at fishing or catching our famous mud crabs (seasonal). The Burrum River is just down the road. Time and weather permitting, Don may be able to take you fishing, prawning and crabbing with you and show you how to catch a feed (hopefully).

Enjoy the wildlife on our property - kangaroos, kookaburras, cockatoos, eagles, lizards, goannas to name just a few. It's a nice spot to stay, re-energise, take in the peace and get off the tourist track for a bit.

Internet/wifi available but please use respectfully.

Your own transport is advisable as there is no public transport but we can pick you up from Hervey Bay, Childers or Maryborough transit stations or from the tilt train in Howard.

Sorry, we cannot help with 2nd year visas.

Smoking is permitted outside of all buildings. Please dispose of butts responsibly.

Responsible consumption of alcohol is also permitted. Please provide your own.

Stays of one week are preferred but longer/shorter stays may also be considered.

Other family members consist of our black cat, Pippin & our quarterhorse mare, Flick.

If you do not want to work, the cost is $50 per night for 2 people. Meals not included.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use