Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 42708
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Bath
All Year: April to November
Area (ha): 4
Persons: 1 or a couple/friend
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 42708
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 17, 2018

**LOOKING FOR VOLUNTEERS FOR Summer and Autumn 18 **
Welcome to our smallholding, we are a family of 5, myself, my husband Scott and our 3 children. we are not organic certified but try to adhere to organc standards.

On our smallholding we have cows, pigs, sheep, free range chickens, ducks, geese,, bees and our 4 dogs and 2 farm cats.
We rear our own Beef, Lamb, Pork and chicken, mainly for ourselves.

We have a large vegetable patch and we garden the 'no dig' way, with a polytunnel and greenhouse, we are mainly growing veg for ourselves but I run a small veg box delivery in the Summer with surplus veg.

We sell our chicken, duck and goose eggs mainly from a stall on our farm gate.

We mainly will need help with gardening and jobs on the smallholding including mucking out, feeding and checking animals. Some of the work can be dirty, heavy and physically hard! if the helper can help in the home this would be a bonus.. The people who stay with us will need to be enthusiastic, responsible, trustworthy and enjoy being around animals and children. You may be working alone at times.
I enjoy cooking and would love to be shown some authentic dishes if the helper can cook.
We use our own meat and vegetables as much as possible when cooking, daily meals are normally toast/cereal for breakfast, sanwhiches for lunch and a main dinner in the evening.
The helper will be expected to work 5-6 hrs a day, which will be split over a whole day rather than one block, for 5 days.The last jobs of the day are washing up and shutting the hens in their houses at night.
We are a little way from a town and public transport is limited but I am happy to drop people into town or bus stops where possible. We can also provide bikes!
In return we will provide a small caravan with use of the family bathroom, all 3 main meals. Just a note to say I only cook one family meal in the evening for everyone, so fussy eaters beware!
A good understanding of English is a must.

We are located in a small village, 6 miles from the beautiful city of Bath. We are 3 miles from the nearest shop, a bike can be offered for transport as public transport is limited.
There is a pub in the village, a cycle route, horse riding, there is tumulus in a near by village and all the amenities that you would expect of a City near by.


Ideally volunteers will have their own work wear and will have experience with gardening or animals.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use