Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 43022
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 4
Persons: 1-2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 43022
Region: South Canterbury

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 19, 2018

Hi, Our property is located just out of the small town of Geraldine. We have been here a couple of years. With a collection of animals to attend to - sheep, lambs, chickens, bees, a cow and fallow deer - there is always something to be done around here. We have about 3 acres of woodlot, a small stream and pond and a small orchard.

Our property is totally off grid with only solar power and rain water. This means if you like to shower a lot then our place might not be for you :-) We will eventually build our own strawbale house on site - our architect is currently working on the plans and we will look to start building later this year. In the meantime we are living in a very (very!) small shed/garage with our kids. We have a sleepout on site which has a queen size bed to offer. We don't have wifi here but the local library does have free wifi to use (about 10 min drive away). The sleepout has limited solar power to run some LED lights and if its sunny enough to charge phones/tablets etc.

Our toilet is a composting toilet outside. Our shower is also outside although enclosed. Because we are only able to use rain water for everything we only use the washing machine about once a week and showers are limited to couple of times a week - unless you want to fill up the camp/solar shower :-) Our kids are pretty young, Tilly is 5 and Jascha is 2 so it means we eat dinner around 5pm and then get them into bed around 7pm - after a day with the kids/at work we often head to bed early as well.

We eat our own animals and are establishing a good size veggie patch. Jobs on the property range from playing with the kids, fixing fences, cutting down trees/cutting up firewood, tending to the veggie patch, feeding the animals and collecting pinecones - plus heaps more. And eventually help building our strawbale house...

Matt is at working during the week and I'm at home with the kids (we homeschool), pottering and doing jobs around the place.

We dont expect a full days work from those that come to stay, about 5 hours a day in return for food and accommodation. Sundays are pancake breakfasts so its always good to come for a sunday :-) We dont generally have helpx-ers come over winter as the sleepout isnt heated, the beds cozy but the room can be cold.

Rachel, Matt, Tilly and Jascha

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use