help exchange   Host 43062
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2.8
Persons: 1-3
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 43062
Region: Lower North Island

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 10, 2018

Your hosts : Jennifer and Denise

Like ... Carterton?

Are you in the North Island heading south or travelling north from the South Island/Wellington on SH2 through the Wairarapa from beginning of September onwards? We are looking for 1 or 2 helpers for up to 1 week, either a couple or 1 or 2 single helpers, to help with various jobs.

We have a lifestyle block of 2.8ha east of Carterton, just 6km/6 minutes from the centre of town, 20 minutes' drive north to Masterton; 10 minutes' drive south to Greytown, and 20 minutes' drive to Martinborough. 1 1/2 hours' drive south to Wellington; daily train service to and from Carterton. This area is well known for its scenic tramps, rivers and bush walks. We have recently relocated and renovated an old villa on the site, on a quiet road surrounded by picturesque farmland. We raise our own cattle, sheep, pigs, chickens and bees and grow a variety of fruits and vegetables as organically as possible.

We have 2 comfortable double bedrooms each with a queen size bed, with electric blankets and ceiling fans, so can accommodate 2 single occupiers, or a couple. A private bathroom for these 2 bedrooms. We have no children at home, and we have 2 dogs and 2 cats. We have Wifi and basic Sky. Our meals are wholesome and varied, mostly using our home grown meat and vegetables. 3 meals per day will be provided. Unfortunately, there is no public transport past our property and we are 6 kilometres from SH2 in a rural area. This position would therefore ideally suit person/s with their own transport to explore the region and who like to include red meat in their diet.

In return we would like you to help out for 4 hours per day. We are fairly flexible so you can arrange your day to allow for exploring the area, or work 8 hour days and have 1 or 2 off. And we would more than welcome a chance to experience others' cuisine if anybody wished to occasionally take over dinner duties!

Tasks we need help with are : Garden work - weeding, line trimming, digging, thistle spraying etc. / Landscaping / Dog Walking / Help with sheep maintenance, moving stock etc. when required / Fencing / Firewood, chain sawing etc. And we have good old general housework if the days are rainy! Anyone with building/handyperson/farm skills especially welcome!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use