Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 43101
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Isle of Lewis
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 43101
Country: Scotland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 23, 2018

Hello, we are Debbie and Brian, a couple in our 40/50s living on a croft (smallholding) on the North West coast of Isle of Lewis in the Outer Hebrides with our 2 sons. We are just at the start of our journey to turn 8 acres of rough grazing land into a productive self sufficient croft, so there is a lot of path laying, tree planting, gardening etc as well as caring for our ever growing livestock numbers.

We are looking for people to help us for several hours each day and generally join in with household life, in return for a bedroom, all meals and living as part of the family. We will try to pick people who we think will really fit in with us and get on well with the whole family and our animals.
We are in a remote and rural location, we are part of a crofting township which is reasonably well provided for, there are a couple of shops, launderette, pub, social club, restaurants and sports centre all within 2 miles of our house. The nearest town is Stornoway and there is a bus every 2 hours. We have fairly good mobile phone/internet coverage and can provide wifi to our guests. It is really important for you to feel comfortable keeping yourself occupied when you are not working - whether it is reading a book, using the internet, painting or whatever your own interests are. There is countryside all around to explore on foot or by bike

We don't smoke, so if you do smoke we ask that you only ever smoke outside. We eat meat but if you are vegetarian, we don't mind and will try to give you an alternative to meat. Or you may if you prefer use our kitchen to prepare food.

We would expect guests to help out with vegetable/fruit growing, chickens, sheep, pigs, peat cutting, building work, tree planting, wood cutting, cooking, cleaning and general labouring as required.

We can offer a double bedroom within our own home with shared use of bathroom facilities. Please be aware that the weather in Lewis can be wild, we live in a 100 year old small croft house with solid fuel heating, our idea of comfort may not be the same as yours!

Looking forward to hearing from you
Debbie and Brian

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use