help exchange   Host 43168
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Courtelary
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1or2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 43168
Country: Switzerland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 28, 2020

We are a couple (40 and 47) with three kids, two boys (7 and 6) and a girl (3.5). We`re living in a beautifully renovated (17th century) farm house. Surrounded by a big garden with an orchard and a vegetable patch. We also keep six chicken, a cat and some beehives.
Before having children, we liked to travel the world. We spent time in Asia, Africa and especially South America, where we traveled in our customized car for almost two years. See our website link above.
Even though we`re living in a French speaking area, our Family language is Swiss-German. Moreover, we speak English, French, some Spanish and Danish.
Our little village (around 1200 inhabitants) is situated in the French speaking part of the canton Bern. It has all the infrastructure needed, such as one bank, a post office, bakery, butcher, little grocery stores, schools…even the famous Swiss chocolate factory Camille Bloch is located here.
Our area offers a lot of hiking and biking trails and just down the mountain in the Seeland the lake of Biel, Neuenburg and Murten are lovely to explore.
By train it takes 20 minutes to Biel and 1 hour to Bern.
Work to do: Housekeeping and cleaning, gardening, smaler renovations, work for or with the bees. . Our hosts are also welcome to cook their favorite dishes for us. We just love it to try food from other cultures.
We can put up two persons (one double bed).
For four hours of work per day (could be done also in one day, so you would have the next day off) we offer you board and lodging. You would have your own room with full-size bed, a bath with shower and bathtub and Wifi. In addition, you could use sauna and bikes. We try to eat locally, milk and meat from the farmers nearby, eggs from our hens, honey from the bees and seasonal veggies and berries from our garden. Vegetarians are also welcome, it does not bother us to abstain from meat during this time.
House and garden are smoke free areas.
If you would like to stay in the countryside and share family life with us, it would be our pleasure to welcome you for around two to four weeks.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use