Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 43304
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

McLaren Vale
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 42
Persons: 1 to 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 43304
Region: South Australia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 30, 2018

***Helpful hint for all of us - Keep your profile updated with where you are currently and where you think you're going in the future***

I am a single guy in my mid-thirties running a winery in McLaren Vale and a cropping farm at Waitpinga. In addition, I work closely with my parents' business just down the road - a vineyard and cellar door - so there's a variety of things to do - vineyard and winery work and lots of other things like shed building, painting, spraying weeds.

During previous vintages I have hosted groups of Swedish sommelier students undertaking an industry placement as part of their studies. While here they learn about wine making and viticulture, gaining the skills to get a job in other wineries around the world - bouncing back and forth between hemispheres and travelling in between if desired.

McLaren Vale is about 40 minutes from the city of Adelaide by car; a little longer by bus and train.

I have opportunities for 1 to 2 non-smokers. The winery is on-site, about 50 metres from the house and 2.5km from McLaren Vale township. There is phone and television reception and Wi-Fi.

We try to have some fun times amongst the work - things like riding motorbikes, taking the speedboat out or driving the scenic back roads.

I'm looking for helpers who are excited by and will appreciate learning all sorts of things, from winery tasks to things like plumbing, construction and operating machinery. There's a balance of physical work and easy things.

During vintage (Feb-Apr) I work long (sometimes very long) hours, but I don't expect the same from you. Accommodation and food is provided (cook your own meals when it's busy) in return for 4 hours work each day, but if I get a little extra help I may have time to show you some of the sights and visit some attractions.
Outside of vintage the work is quite variable, in the time required, time it's performed and the nature of the tasks.

More photos at!AroNf8IgyidwgaUFSLDXS1R0axkhxA

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use