Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 43325
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 30
Persons: 2 or couple
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 43325
Region: North Auckland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 3, 2015

We are a couple in our 50s/60s who enjoy our country lifestyle, growing our own food, and meeting new people. We enjoy taking advantage of the opportunities for active recreational activities in New Zealand like hiking (called tramping in NZ), skiing, and kayaking. We love travelling and learning about other cultures, and we have found that sharing our home with people from overseas is the second-best thing to travelling ourselves.

We have recently bought a rural lifestyle property at the South Head of the Kaipara Harbour. Our property has forest, native bush and pasture. We have a large 2-storey old house with very colourful rooms (!!) that we have started renovating. We have begun work on the gardens and house, and currently we desperately need help preparing the outside of the house for painting. This work requires strong, fit people who do not mind working on scaffolding. Experience working as a house painter would be an advantage. We will work with our helpers, and we will have some students working with us as well.

We offer accommodation and breakfast, lunch and dinner in exchange for 5 hours work per day (with weekends off). We are flexible about the hours of work - you may want to work longer hours one day and then take a day off. Minimum stay one week, maximum stay three weeks.

We have two large bedrooms and a private modern bathroom available for non-smoking guests. We have WiFi access, but because we live in a rural area, mobile phone coverage is unreliable (depending on the mobile provider).

You will need your own car as there is no public transport and the nearest town (Helensville) is 22km away. The centre of Auckland is 1 hour 15 minutes by car.

There are lots of things to do in our local area if you have a car: Muriwai Beach (a popular surf beach) and the Kaipara Harbour (good fishing, interesting history) are very close, as are freshwater lakes and regional parks for swimming and walking. There are thermal pools at Parakai (20kms away.

If you would like to experience a rural, coastal New Zealand lifestyle not far from Auckland, with friendly people eager to learn about your culture, we would welcome you.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use