Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 43513
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

South Otago
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.7342 ha
Persons: 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 43513
Region: Otago

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 17, 2016

My name is Rebecca. I live in a small country town called Kaitangata with my mother in the family home which used to be an old hospital. It is a large building with a separate cottage, plenty outside buildings and enough land space to introduce a sustainable environment. It is 107 years old, made of wood and still very functional.

We are looking for volunteers willing to work on our property and help establish a sustainable environment. The buildings are in need of repair and we also need help with general tasks like mowing the lawn, keeping the grounds tidy, weeding the gardens, boiler maintenance and any other tasks necessary to keep the property functional.

We prefer people who want to stay with us 2 weeks or longer and have some skills in the following trades - Building, painting, roofing, plumbing, panel beating, organic gardening, landscaping and arts and crafts. We require a copy of your CV and/or references.

We are new to gardening with little knowledge of how to build structures so we welcome your ideas and input.

The following list gives you some idea of what kind of tasks you could be involved in, depending on your skills and the weather

Inside work:
Assisting with general household chores and activities e.g:
• Baking
• Cooking
• Grocery Shopping
• Washing ceilings, walls and cupboards
• Cleaning windows
• Vacuuming and other house hold chores
• Sanding and painting
• Restoring furniture

Outside work:
• Cleaning and maintaining the concrete yard, driveway and paths
• Establishing and taking care of compost areas
• Weeding the gardens
• Help establish vegetable gardens and planting fruit trees
• Assist with boiler maintenance
• Attend to rubbish bins
• Wash down buildings, removing cobwebs, scraping and preparing for painting
• Painting
• Cleaning gutters on roof
• Keep grounds tidy
• Deconstructing wooden pellets for building projects
• Upcycling
• Fencing
• Establish chicken coup
• Caring for livestock
• Assist with other projects underway e.g. restoration of small caravan, building animal shelters

Kaitangata is one hour south of Dunedin, 3 hours from Queenstown, 1 hour from the Catlins and 30 minutes from the beach and has the following activities and services available
•Fish and chip shop
•Swimming pool
•Wangaloa Reserve - Walking trek
•BMX and skateboard park
•Mountain bike track
•Wild horse trek
•Rural environment

Kaitangata has no public transport and is 12km from the nearest town Balclutha, so you MUST have your own transport.

Is in the main building with mum, where you will be sharing with up to 4 boarders, whanau/family and other helpers, not necessarily all at the same time, but it is possible you could be sharing with up to 10 people at one time. There is plenty room for everyone and you are expected to follow the house rules same as everyone else.

We offer a friendly, warm and comfortable environment with full accommodation and access to all facilities and internet although you need your own laptop/mobile.

You will be welcomed into our home shown respect and treated as part of our whanau/family therefore we expect the same in return. You will be sharing a room and expected to work 4 hours a day, from 9am-1pm although it is negotiable. You will be responsible for providing and cooking your own food. There is strictly no smoking, no alcohol and no use of drugs on the premises. Anyone caught doing either or suspected of being under the influence will be asked to leave the premises immediately. You are expected to clean up after yourself at all times and without delay, including helping with some general household duties. Non-compliance to any guidelines will result in being asked to leave.

Thank you. We look forward to meeting and sharing new adventures with you. Safe Travels.

Rebecca :-)

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use