help exchange   Host 43967
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: 01/05/2016 to 10/7/2016
Area (ha): we rent a farm house
Persons: 1 male or 1 couple
Category: Other
Host ID: 43967
Region: Far North

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 2, 2016

We are looking for a helper to do the cooking and help Phil with the odd job. He has had a minor stroke so there will be the occasional lifting that maybe too heavy for him. They will need to be fluent in English speaking as he also wears hearing aids and an accent is hard for him to pick up what is said sometimes. Anyone from England Australia France Germany and Ireland will be fine as he finds he can understand them if they talk at a slower pace.

You will need a N.Z. driving licence and over 25 if they drive my car. The closest town is 10 minute drive away. Whangarei is 46km away and the doctor and ear specialist is there. Non smokers and non drinkers please. There is lots of activities in the Bay Of Islands such as golf, beaches, glow worm caves, Waitangi Treaty house, Russell (the first capital of N.Z.), and Kawakawa has the Hunterweisser toilets that fascinates tourists, the steam train takes half hour trips as far as the only wooden rail bridge in N.Z. In May there is a country music festival in Paihia and if that is not your music you can leave Phil there and visit the treaty house or catch the ferry to Russell.

As we are not vegetarians we would prefer non vegetarians. Veges are definitely on the menu but we eat meat which we don't have different dishes to cook non meat eater food in.
The reason I need someone is because I will be away for the majority of the time and because of the stroke we need someone on hand in case of another. He is not to cook or drive. The dates for a helper can be from 1st. May rather than 20th. April now. We live in a four bedroom home with master bedroom having an ensuite which means you will have your own bathroom. Phil is keeping in good health at the moment and will so long as he takes things slowly. He is quite happy to show you around the north on day trips and you will need to go to town to stock up on groceries. If two months is too long it could be shared to suite.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use