Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 44093
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Spring-Autumn
Area (ha): 20
Persons: <2
Category: Other
Host ID: 44093
Region: Otago

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 24, 2018

URGENT help sought!!

My Weimaraner has just had a pup - only one :(

This is my dogs first litter. She is quite devoted to her pup but she is still learning the motherhood ropes.

I am hoping there is someone out there who would be interested in "puppy sitting" for a couple of weeks during the day while I work (part time). The duties won't be difficult or onerous - in fact will be a lot of fun watching a little pup develop.

A little basic house work would also be very helpful.

Someone with some experience with animals would be ideal - preferably someone who LOVES dogs.

The Mum (Elsa) is delightful and easy to get along with.

I think this opportunity would ideally suit someone travelling alone (as it definitely isn't a heavy duty role!!) but I am open to any alternatives.

If you are interested please send me an email and we can discuss options that will work for us both (and the dogs!!)

The pup is at my home in Dunedin, Otago.

(UPDATE - 2 May. Tor is now 8 weeks old and nearly 8kg. He is VERY active and will soon be able to be taken for walks once he has had his booster vaccination. Toilet training is going well but some more attention to that would improve things even further!! Training for walking on a lead is next priority)..... Helpers with puppy training skills (or an interest in that) would be a huge help.

I have two properties:

1. Small lifestyle block set among tussock and schist tor country approx 45 minutes inland of Dunedin. Access is directly off a main sealed highway.

2. A small 3 bedroom home right in Dunedin city.

I work from my town base (part time) and spend as much time on my lifestyle block as possible.

From the cottage on my lifestyle block the nearest (small) shop is 10km away.

The area is very dry with moderate extremes of weather - hot in summer/cold in winter.

My property has been largely destocked for 10+ years to enable regeneration of indigenous native plant species and as habitat for native animals. I run a major ongoing animal predator trapping project as part of that programme.

My cottage is quite small but warm. It is fully off grid (PV/batteries). Cellphone coverage is limited due to location. Internet only available via your cellphone.

I maintain a small garden there and fresh vegetables are seasonally available.

The area is very dry most of the year so fire is a risk - non-smokers therefore preferred please.

I am currently looking to upgrade and extend the cottage and assistance is sought in some landscaping and rock wall building associated with that. The vege gardens are always in need of some tlc too.

Am also VERY keen to develop some in-situ art works amongst the rock tors using wire mesh and plaster/local clay (or similar). So anyone with an interest (or skill!!) in that area would be most welcome to come, have a go and leave your signature in this special place!!

I have a very friendly dog (Elsa a Weimaraner) and occasionally graze a couple of horses (Kyla a Clydie X Arab and Box a Paint gelding) on my property.

The cottage and surrounds would suit someone looking for a few days break from the "rat race" where quiet contemplation is possible and time is measured by when one is hungry or tired not fixed by a clock :)

In town I would like some assistance with the flower/shrub garden especially (not my forte).

I have ample off street parking available and shopping is readily accessible.

From my town base Otago Peninsula with all its wildlife attractions is but a short drive away.

As I commute between my properties I would ideally prefer someone who is interested in spending some time at each place - they are VERY different!!

I am happy to negotiate the amount of work required for accommodation and meals (3-4 hours per day?) but would expect there to be plenty of time and opportunity to relax and experience both areas.

I have traveled extensively internationally and enjoy meeting and hosting people from different cultures.

I especially LOVE Asian cuisine but am open to any new taste experiences!! :)

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use