Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 44343
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2.8
Persons: 3
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 44343
Region: Tasmania

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 26, 2017

Looking for building and gardening help in November 2017 onwards.

A family permaculture property in Crabtree TAS, with a large variety of rare and interesting fruit and nut trees, including Australian bush food plants. Most of the time, there are four of us living here, Lyn, Tony, Selina and Flash (the dog) plus chickens, geese and native wildlife. We moved from Sydney to Tasmania just over 2 years ago to embrace sustainability and living in nature. We were lucky enough to find a beautiful house next to a pretty mountain stream (Crabtree creek) on 7 acres in the Huon Valley.

We are exceptionally health conscious and eat natural good food. We are trying to as much as possible support ourselves from our land and locally. We are also food lovers and are experienced and skilled in the kitchen.

Selina: Hello, I have WWoofed in the U.K. so am understanding of needs. I have studied and have interests in experimental natural farming, permaculture, herbalism, yoga, alternative health and am a raw food chef.

We hope to have help with tasks such as: Tree planting, garden wall building, looking after poultry, annual vegetable gardening, earth works (digging), plant nursery work, forest garden maintenance, possibly construction help and potentially food preparation. All depending on the season. We will be working with you most of the time and will endeavour to make it as fun as possible.

We welcome anyone who wants to experience the pretty Crabtree countryside, local culture, fun and help us build our dream of sustainability, diversity, good food, health and happiness. We are very open to those with skills in organic gardening, sustainable farming, permaculture, creative construction, builders, engineers...

You will have a very comfortable bedroom to yourself in the house and share meals with us. Enjoy swimming in our spring-fed creek and get to see the beautiful Huon Valley (apple and cherry bowl of Australia). Activities in the region include, hiking, cycling and kyaking. We visit Hobart (30 mins away) quite often so would be able to show you around town. We are also a 10 minute drive away from Huonville. We expect that you will work for at least 5 hours a day with 2 days free a week.

No smoking or big meat eaters. Can cater for vegetarians :-)

At the moment only volunteer/ experience work available (not paid). Does not contribute to 2nd year visa hours.

Feel free to contact me (Selina) to discuss staying with us/ potential dates.

P.S. I am involved with local orchards and can inquire about summer fruit picking if you are interested :-)

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use