Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 44362
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

New Plymouth
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 4
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 44362
Region: Taranaki

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 12, 2018

Nestled up against the Pouakai ranges with birds' eye view of the coastline, our home has a bush backdrop with easy walking access to Egmont National Park while being only 15 minutes drive from New Plymouth.

Our house is located a 10 minute walk from the Mangorei Track, which allows for access to Pouakai cabin and the trail network beyond. We have 10 acres of land, 6 of which is native bush continuous with the national park.

We purchased this land 5 years ago and have started the hard work of converting it from a beef paddock to a lifestyle property complete with gardens, fences, windbreak and an orchard. We have already planted upwards of 1000 (mostly native) trees on the property, installed an "infinity lawn", planted a fruit orchard, created internal paddocks using 3 board fencing and landscaped several gardens.

Due to the great popularity of the Pouakai Crossing and its start just up the road, the council is widening our road. Unfortunately, this means that we need to save about 35 small trees and lots of flaxes from the road boundary. The work involved would include transplanting flaxes, grasses and shrubs as well as mulching and weeding.

Our family includes two young boys (7 and 4), a small dog (Sox)and a cat (Noche). Both my husband and myself have studied and worked overseas (Japan, Alaska, USA) and traveled extensively. We enjoy trail running, volleyball, mountain biking, gardening and going to the beach. We really enjoy help-x and meeting people from all over the world.

We require an average of 4 hours of work for each night stayed plus helping out with dinner tidy up (~10 minutes). The work can be doubled up so that 8 hours could be completed one day and have the next day off as to offer time to tramp in the national park. We have central heating and a tidy room with a queen sized bed in 3 year old home. We are non-smokers, non-drinkers and eat tasty, mostly homemade, gluten-free foods.

We both drive into town daily and so would be able to assist with rides when we are already going to/from town.

(All photos are taken from our property except for the one on the beach.)

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use