Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 44418
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 9
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 44418
Country: Scotland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 14, 2018

We're a couple who gave up the rat race and set up our smallholding from scratch seven years ago, recently completed our new build house. We have pigs, sheep, ducks, chickens, turkeys (until Christmas), three dogs (in the house) and a old cat who has recently moved in to the house! Gillian is 45 and used to work in retail management, David is a very, very young 72, retired and was a qualified architect who then set up several successful businesses. Of our three dogs one is a bit annoying and looks for a lot of attention from you, but she eventually leaves you alone! We both have private pilots licences and have a huge collection of books for you to read. We live in a lovely rural setting Non-smokers only please!

We're looking for volunteers to take responsibility for feeding, watering and mucking out/ bedding our animals (pigs, sheep, chickens and ducks) which takes around 2 hours (split between morning and evening) plus 2-3 hours working on other projects (gardening/ veg plot, finishing our huge polytunnel, general clear up after our new house build)...generally you will be outside working between 8.30-12.30 then an hour just before dark.

We get up to 300 offers of help each month so people with practical skills/ trades are more likely to be successful....especially woodwork/ carpentry, handy with tools/ D.I.Y, fence building, using a mini digger, painting & decorating, tiling etc etc

This host lives on a farm, in Scotland - the help we need is outdoors, with animals, it can be a bit monotonous and all weathers (Scotland = a lot of rain) and often in muddy conditions. We'll lend you waterproofs and buy you wellingtons, but please be sure you think you will embrace rather than endure this way of life before offering to help. Thanks :-)

We enjoy a peaceful quiet life here, it may be too quiet for some, others may see this as a great opportunity for a bit of a retreat....civilisation (Glasgow City Centre) is only 7 miles :-)

We have a large room for volunteers with it's own bathroom. It has two double beds and although we often have just one volunteer, you should be happy with the notion of sharing the room.

Please reply with what you think you could help with....the animals are the only compulsory task. When you send us an enquiry we'll reply with a comprehensive information sheet and a couple of questions.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use