help exchange   Host 44502
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


isle of skye
All Year: No
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 2-4
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 44502
Country: Scotland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 18, 2019

Free self catering accommodation on Isle of Skye in return for help in garden and croft.

18 June -14 July

Hello folks.

For the last two years I have been building a load bearing strawbale bothy, but between working fulltime and building the bothy my dog, garden and croft have been badly neglected. The strawbale bothy is nearly finished, but I don't want to leave my garden and croft to deteriorate any further.

I'm looking for folks who are comfortable working outdoors, getting muddy, maybe scratched by brambles and hopefully know a wee bit about horticulture to help rescue the garden and croft.

So here's the deal:

I will be moving out of my two bedroom traditional stone built croft house and into the bothy so that I can finish it in the evenings after work and at weekends.

This leaves my house available for helpexers. There are two double bedrooms so it would ideally suit couples or friends happy to share a bed! This will be a different experience from the last time I hosted. I'm sorry but I will be busy at work, or finishing the bothy, so, you will need to be happy to be entirely self catering, and cook your own food (the kitchen is stocked with loads of herbs, spices, home made jams and chutney, eggs from our hens and all the basic cupboard stores - lentils, pulses, pasta, which you are welcome to use and replace if you use it up). Sorry, but after a day at work and working on the bothy, I'm exhausted and not up to cooking. It is my home, so it has everything you would expect, sitting room, fully equipped kitchen, washing machine, books, games, TV, Netflix...all I ask is you look after my home, replace anything you have finished, tell me if anything gets broken and leave it ready for the next helpexer. If you are a smoker, please do not smoke in the house.

The type of job will depend on how long you wish to stay, what experience you have and what you feel comfortable doing.So as long as the jobs are done properly and thoroughly at the start of your stay then the rest of the time is yours to explore this beautiful island. So for example, if you wish to stay a week, you would spend the first 3-4 days working in the garden or croft and the rest of the time you would be entirely free to come and go as you please. But I'm easy, if you would prefer to work a few hours a day instead, then that's fine too.

The jobs may range from building compost bins, filling them and dismantling the old ones, clearing brambles on the croft, clearing paths, weeding, tying in hedging, digging over vegetable beds, cutting and stacking firewood, watering plants, potting up seedlings, fence building or repair work, building a new hen run, walking the dog, tidying out the shed/greenhouse and wood store, cutting grass.

I live in a small village with a local pub with traditional music and small shop close by. There are stunning views from the house and plenty to do and see. But it can feel remote and, in my experience, any job is better when you can share it with other people. This is why I think this would ideally suit couples or friends travelling together.

Public transport on Skye is limited. If you are comfortable with hitching, it is easy and a common way for people here to get around. The nearest large village is Broadford about 16 miles away. It has a supermarket, chemist and post office.

If you think this may suit you, and you are available in June and some of July, then please drop me an email. I look forward to hearing from you.

Nicola

Please note: my phone does not work at the moment. Please email me.

Photos:
* House with bothy on the right,
* View from the house.
* Overgrown vegetable beds.
* The compost bins that need rebuilding.
* My poor overgrown garden.
* The track that needs clearing and ditches that need back filling.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use