Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 44521
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 11
Persons: 1 or 2 usually
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 44521
Region: Far North

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 5, 2018

Tena koutou katoa!
Bonjour a tous!
Hullo everyone!

#Warning# ;-)
We enjoy working hard and you will need to as well. We like to host people who are interested in our way of life. We do most things by hand, even if it takes a while sometimes!

We CURRENTLY have lots of fencing and some building work to do. We are looking for help through spring and summer with gardening and turning trees into firewood.
There will be some orchard maintenance too as well as the usual stuff we try to do!
Experience with a chainsaw would be great, but not essential.

Cooking is on a wood stove, we have a solar panel, no machinery other than a chainsaw, no internet, cellphone reception is limited, no washing machine, no flush toilet. So be warned, ITV's not everyone's cup of tea! If that sounds okay, read on...

Je m appelle Amandine, I'm French and have been living in NZ for 3 years with my partner Tyler, a kiwi. We are 33 and 30 years old. And we now have a beautiful daughter Rosalie (born in sept 2016). I work at the hospital as a casual. At home I make cheese, look after kitchen pets and plant seeds compulsively. Tyler trains horses and works in forestry and various other things but our farm and gardens are our main priority.
Our small farm is populated with 3 goats, 3 cows, 1 dog, 5 horses, rabbits and less and less possums.
We live in a 36 sqm house that we built from recycled and natural materials. It's very simple, like most things here.

Guest accommodation is a cosy caravan. Please come with biodegradable soap, shampoo and toothpaste etc (redseal brand is quite cheap) because our water goes back into our gardens and pastures and we don't like chemicals anyway. We can easily cater for vegetarians but vegans or other diets may need to bring some of their own food. We aim to eat mostly what we produce or gather locally.

Our property is a mix of grazing and forestry with some native bush, a swimming hole and large gardens. We don't sell our produce; we eat, store, ferment and preserve it. We also milk a cow and goat to make cheese, yogurt, butter... There is always buildings, fencing, gardening, forestry, firewood, cooking and many other jobs to do and some fun of course!

We speak English, French and some Te Reo Maori, the indigenous language here. We love to share our life and work with like minded people interested in alternative/traditional life styles, self reliance, community, activism and good old fashioned manual labour.

Particular interests of ours include: animal traction (working horses), cheese, seeds saving, playing music, weaving (flax and hopefully one day willow), saucisson making, roundwood building, games...

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use