Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 4455
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.4
Persons: up to a couple
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 4455
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 9, 2011

I have occupied this place as my home for over 30 years. All that time it has been run on 'ecological' lines. Electricity is made on site (I'm off the grid) and there is no indoor plumbing, but one indoor compost toilet - a simple one that requires emptying on a frequent basis. I am red-hot about hygiene - all 'waste' buckets are washed before re-use, for example. I am a recently retired practitioner of Chinese Medicine and Western Herbalism. I am a writer and I have a small, domestic garden run on organic lines and attempting Bio-dynamics this season. Deliberately, the work here is mostly manual, but sometimes it is too much for one person, especially an aging one! I love to cook and am renowned for my delicious and filling organic, vegetarian cooking. I provide comfortable beds. Sometimes people come here knowing that I live simply and equate that with living austerely - I don't live austerely! I like to have a warm house and warm water to wash with. Austerity is not part of the package. I am always interested to meet people from other parts of the world. I am a Servas host. I love to network and put people in touch with one another. I have travelled a lot myself in India, Canada, Mongolia, the Andes and North Africa. I don't like to spend the working day sitting down, putting the world to rights! I am happy to do that for an hour or two in the evening. I go to bed early (by most people's standards - by 10pm at the latest) and I rise fairly early as well. Once washed and changed, I do some Qi Gong and a meditation practice. In all, that takes me nearly an hour. Then I have my breakfast. I don't expect my guests to join me, but I do expect to be allowed to get on with what I do, whether they're there, or not. I have no car and live in a fairly remote place. My nearest neighbour is about a mile away. Anyone who arrives and can't stand any aspect of the way I live, is free to leave with NO BLAME... I don't think the world should do things my way - I just like it when the world lets me do things my way!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use