Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 44564
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: 14th May - 14th June
Area (ha): town house
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 44564
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 22, 2017

Unusual opportunity for Helpx volunteers - time limited unfortunately from 14th May -14th June 2017.

We are a family with young children renovating an old Victorian house to live in. The house is in Nottingham, a city in the middle of England. We moved ina year ago with a LOT of help from some wonderful volunteers. We have made loads of progress but there is still a lot of work to do.

We are looking for someone/2 people willing to share a room who would like to join our family for a few weeks starting immediately.

Our daughter is 5 and at school and our son is 2yrs old and very friendly. We are interested in a volunteer who can play with our son in the garden or read him books while I (his mum) get on with devorating the house, and/or to take part in some decorating yourself IF you have the experience. If you are from outside Europe you need to make sure you have a working visa.

I speak French, Spanish, German and English, my husband only English. Our daughter will talk at you about fairies, monsters and dragons constantly and our son speaks English but with few consonants! So airplain is "airpai". Luckily he can also use signs, which you will learn really quickly. We would be happy to help you improve your English conversation skills if you are travelling to learn English.

You would have your own room. There is one single bed but if 2 friends want to stay together we would be happy to give you a camp bed also. If you would like to join us on your days off you would be very welcome to be part of our family. My husband and I are both socialists and we are involved in protests against immigration detention centres, for decent housing and international solidarity. You would be welcome to see an alternative British culture. We also go to many parks etc with the children and you would be welcome to come. Alternatively if you prefer to do your own thing during your free time then that is also fine.

Food: Breakfast cereal, tea, coffee, milk and lunch will be provided each day. We will eat our evening meal together. Everyone is expected to help preparing or cleaning away after meals. We eat mainly vegetarian food but you are welcome to bring meat into the house.

We would prefer a non-smoker if possible but if you are happy to smoke outside away from the children then that's fine.

As you would be in close contact with our children we would need to contact references. If you contact us with email/phone number of your reference immediately then it will make the process much quicker for you. I will prioritise applicants who provide references. This does NOT need to be a Helpx reference, preferably an email of a teacher or employer who knows you.

Hours of work: 20 hours per week, imcluding the time spent preparing food/washing up when we are eating together.

Local area: Nottingham is a beautiful and vibrant city with lots of cultural history (home of Robin Hood). The house is 30 mins walk from the city centre. The local area, Sherwood, also has a nice high street with a library, cafes, shops and a nice park (Woodthorpe park). It is possible to travel by bus to many interesting places from Nottingham, for example Matlock Baths, Newark and even Birmingham is very easy in a day trip.

Article about our city, Nottingham

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use