Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 44977
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3.5
Persons: 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 44977
Region: Wellington

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 2, 2017

We have a 10 acre lifestyle block. We are a young family of four with a cat, 20 sheep, ducks and a lot of native birds!
Our children are Tula (5 1/2 years) and Cohen (22 months)
We are looking for a motivated and friendly person(s) who i'snt afraid to help out wherever needed. This might include all general household chores as well as a bit of child-minding, depending on the weeks schedule. Outside tasks that need doing on our lifestyle block include weeding, planting, mulching, grubbing thistles, paddock weeds, wood stacking/moving etc.

We are happy to host helpers for short stays of about a week, and would prefer mature, practical-minded people with a few years life experience that can work happily and independently. Non-smokers only please. Good communication a must!

We have a very large house with ample space and offer a room with two single beds in it, offered in exchange for 5 hours work per person each day, however we can be flexible with this, ie work a full day for a day off to go sight-seeing, or less hours if babysitting in the evening.

Evening meals are provided, (scheduled around the childrens eating time 5.00-6pm, and if you can cook, a couple of dinners of your own creations would be fantastic to give me a break!! I like to think we are mostly health consciouos eaters, so we are aware of gluten/dairy/sugar over indulgence and try to avoid delving too far into these items, balance is key! Breakfast and lunch is 'help yourself', with food provided. Happy to accommodate vegans/vegetarians but please advise of any dietary requirements upon enquiry, thank you.

We are just beginning our journey into permaculture and have a few fruit trees started, but still require a lot more knowledge and learning of our land before extending this further.

I am able to drop off/pick up from waikanae train station which is 6 minutes from here and takes an hour to/from Wellington. There is a bus from the city out here too. Waikanae beach is 15 minutes drive from our house.

We also have a pool to cool down in after work hours are done, although we only fill this for Jan/Feb and March as its just too cold any other time of the year!

We are very open to learning new ideas/skills and would love if you have anything to bring to the table that you can teach our children through showing those off! This might be something as simple as a cool card game, a funny joke, playing a musical instrument, singing, dancing, anything that you can share from your life is very much valued during your stay....just something to think about!

Thank you for considering our listing and we look forward to hearing from you!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use