Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 45006
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Mid February onwards
Area (ha): 0.6
Persons: 2-3
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 45006
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 30, 2016

We have a small organic vineyard 1000 meters above sea level on the southern slopes of the Sierra Nevada. We have Olive and cherry trees spread over 12 terraces, Large kitchen gardens, a greenhouse & a few animals (chickens and geese).
Work type:
Right now we are starting a large dig/building project to create a subterranean bodega (Vine cellar) so we mainly look for someone who likes a physical workout and is capable of lifting a bit of weight. While the building is on we would need longer work house but this will be compensated by days off and maybe a little pocket money.
We are also commencing a new plantation of vines and need to clear a bit of brush to get this done.
Other work is tending/pruning the vines and fruit trees (after an introduction from us). Bush clearance and gardening is also a part of your jib description and an opportunity to try out dry walling on our many stone walls.
We expect 4 hours work daily but can be flexible if saving up for a few days off is desirable. We provide food for your own cooking but also invite you to cook with us on occasion. Vegetarian diet not a problem but We're not experienced with vegan diet. We don't smoke and would rather you abstain from doing so in your accommodation but apart from that we're not fuzzy. We live on solar and can tell a lot about solar energy as we have been running a renewable energy company for + 10 years.
Internet available but mainly for limited bandwidth uses.
Our land is 4 kilometers above the village of Lanjaron but we go up and down in a car twice on weekdays. Alternatively there is a mule track which takes about 30 minutes down and depending on fitness from 40-50 minutes up (It's a vertical climb of 350 meters)
There is a decent caravan for accommodation with a small tea kitchen + fridge (max 3 beds). At the moment there is no heating but we provide hot water bottles for warming up the bed at night. Because we're high the nights can be a little chilly.
Our area, called La Alpujarra, is renowned for it's beautiful mountain walks and mild climate.
There is a large international community of homesteaders here so exchange of hosts & locations is easy.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use