Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 45074
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Dumfries and Galloway
All Year: Spring/Summer
Area (ha): 4.5
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 45074
Country: Scotland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 27, 2016

We live in a beautiful 15th Century Tower house. It has 5 floors, with a room on each floor, 76 stairs and a dungeon! We heat the tower with geo-thermal heating and have both photo-voltaic solar panels and hot water panels. We have a woodland, polytunnel,chickens,ducks and 2 dogs. We have 4 children with one still living at home at the local high school. We are keen to create a situation where we can share our home and the beautiful Galloway countryside and at the same time have much needed help in our quite extensive garden. We have various sleeping arrangements. We have just completed building a garden room, which can sleep two. We also have a teepee tent which is lovely to sleep in and a room on the 2nd floor with a double bed. The shower/bath is in a shared room, but there is a toilet on the ground floor for everyone's use. The jobs that we will be looking to have help will be varied! We are constantly dealing with brambles that easily take over our woodland. I am trying to create a viable veg and fruit garden which always needs more time than I can give it. Sheds may need painting and paths clearing. All these tasks are weather dependent and we will have to review them on a day to day basis. We live 3 miles away from Gatehouse of Fleet, which has shops, cafes, 2 pubs and a fabulous charity shop. We look over to the stunning Castrammon woods, which is purple with bluebells in April. Wildlife is plentiful, with red squirrel, badgers, hare and otters to see if you are lucky! The river is great for a bracing swim with a very special waterfall 2 miles away, a local hot spot on a sunny day! The sea is 5 miles away with beautiful beaches and gentle coastline. We have bicycles and are happy to coordinate lifts into town where there is a reasonable bus service. We are a vibrant and varied community with lots happening, especially in the summer. We love living here and look forward to sharing it as well as meeting folk from other parts of this remarkable planet, sharing stories and working together awhile. Thanks!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use