Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 45095
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 245
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 45095
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 27, 2017

We are a family of four (two children aged 2 and 6). We've been living here for over 10 years in an off-grid co-operative community of around 70 people. Glen runs a renewable energy training facility and Sarah works part-time in Melbourne CBD.

We are looking for someone to help run our home. Experience with looking after kids would be ideal.

Please note that in winter the weather is very cold outside (mountain top), our home has hydronic central heating and guest accommodation has a wood fire.

We can offer a separate self contained secluded dwelling for our HelpX’ers to stay in. As well as meals and board there’s free internet and you’re welcome to borrow our bikes (mountain bike and a hybrid). Situated on top of a beautiful forested mountain overlooking the Yarra Valley we are both remote yet accessible to Melbourne. Sarah travels to the city 3-4 times a week and can transport HelpX'ers as required to the train station or the local town Healesville.

The community is totally off-grid. Houses are powered by a mix of solar, wind and micro hydro. Its a good opportunity to learn a bit about renewable energy. The Co-op also has a lot of earth buildings (strawbale, mud brick and some rammed earth) if you’re interested in that kind of thing.

We are 15 mins from the nearest town on a forest road. There is no public transport here so it suits people who have their own transport (but if not there are often people to get a lift with).

The Yarra Valley has many attractions; the Healesville Sanctuary (part of the Melbourne Zoo), chocolate; wine; rail trail; national parks and more.

We are a very busy household so we’re looking for someone who will be pretty independent, organised and self-motivated and can look after themselves. Work is generally for 3-4 hours on 4-5 days of the week. The rest of the time you’ll be free. Activities would include: gardening (weeding/mulching/planting), housework, child minding, assisting Glen with managing the renewable energy training facility. As we can't offer constant supervision we would like our HelpX’er to be good at at least one of these activities.

Check out our website for more information

Photos from top left clockwise: 1. Glen, Sarah and our children on holiday in NZ; our straw bale house with lots of solar panels; Pip’s birthday with some of the neighbours kids; Dascha kitchen where HelpX can stay in their own self-contained studio; a few of the 70 members of Moora Moora Community Cooperative; Glen standing in one of our rare winter snowfalls at Mount Toolebewong.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use