help exchange   Host 45109
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Pyhra
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 1-3
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 45109
Country: Austria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 5, 2020

We (my girlfriend, my daughter (1) and me) live in a pretty rural area, that is however not so far away from vienna (~40km) and the regional "capital" St. Pölten (~15km). We live on a small farm that provides us living here with fruits and vegetables (at least in summer). I do also have chicken and some sheep. I work as some kind of social worker and want to keep doing that - as I neighter aim to be a full time farmer, nor someone totally self sufficient but at the same time isolated from the rest of the world (="Aussteiger" in german)..

We have two small guestrooms and a bike you can borrow for the time of your stay. There won't be any fixed working hours, you can join me basically as much as you want, but a litte help during the day would be nice. If you really want to quantify it, i would say that about 3-4 hours a day would be more than sufficient for you to stay+meals. However i would say we discuss that when you are here. Unlike some other profiles i found here, i really want that you get at least as much out of your stay as i do. So if you are interested in the things i listed below and love to be out in the nature doing something, let me know.

As the place i am living in was not used for agriculture purposes for the last hundred years, there is a lot of adaptation to be done. to get an idea, here is a list of things that i am planning to do in the next months (especially now that spring is almost on its way)

Cutting the appletrees and crafting new trees (I am no expert but i can indroduce you to it)
Planting them

Lay about 200m of hedges when its still winter/early spring! (very interessting but a lot of work -> https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ewVpXLQDKyI
or
take a look at one of my pics

Cutting away trees and bushes or even dig the roots out or burn them ect.

adapting the stable for the sheep (windows, hayloft, ect.)
building an electro fence for the sheep.

building the new garden for vegetables and a glasshouse of old windows.

i guess the list is endless and with most of the things outside it really depends on the season you want to join.

Our place is about 15km away from St. Pölten which is the next city with a proper railway station, where all trains going from Vienna to the west do stop. From there i can pick you up.


Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use