Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 45166
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1, 2 (maybe 3)
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 45166
Country: Ukraine

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 6, 2017

**Native English Speakers**

Very interested in English language help and childcare for my daughter aged 5. Please only apply if you are female or part of a couple or small family.

We are a small family - just the two of us, my daughter who is 5 and I. I am a landscape architect, university instructor and small business owner and she is an active, curious and independent girl.

Since my business is based out of my home, the hours are going to be flexible and fluid. This means we don't have a set schedule during the week, but you will always have the weekend free.

My daughter is beginning English and I am an advanced beginner (our friend helped write this listing).

We are not vegetarians, but we do value healthy food from trusted sources. I like to have seafood and know exactly where to get the best products.

You would have your own room and I would provide some cooked food, but you would be free to buy/cook what you like most of the time, giving you independence of meal schedules and diet choices. Compared to western countries, cost of living here is very low with very high quality food for the price - see numbeo for comparisons. I also have some tricks and tips for getting great things on a budget. Maybe I would ask you to prepare a snack or reheat food for my daughter when I am not here.

I live right next to public transport and a short ride to the metro, so it's convenient to get into the center as often as you wish.

Kiev/Kyiv is beautiful all year and we have inexpensive ballet, philharmonic and museums. Visiting Lviv, Odessa or Chernivtsi is possible for the weekend. Going to the country or small villages is also a nice break from city life. If you want to camp, it's possible to borrow my tent.

If you would like to earn some extra spending money there are a few options - I may have more hours of babysitting, there are people who would like to learn English from native speakers and other business opportunities.

I would enjoy sharing Ukrainian and Russian languages with you - so if you are interested in learning, my daughter and I can teach you too! This could be a wonderful way to share a culture exchange!

Because we are a family, we do not accept partying, drugs, excessive alcohol or sleepover guests. And, because my daughter is small and we are just learning English - please no bad language and foul words, it's important for her to have good influences around her and for me to learn the best English I can.

My daughter and I need language help - conversational, business, elementary. I also would need childcare for the meetings and classes I have during the week, perhaps this would total about 20 hours. Some weeks it would be mostly English teaching and some weeks it would be mostly childcare.

We love art, artistic things and are creative type people. We are hoping to have fun loving easy people who are not complicated.

Ukraine is a beautiful country and Kiev has many nice places to see and things to do; along with helping me, I would like you to be able to know our city, region and country.

You would have your own room in a large flat. Our apartment is bright and has cross breezes and a balcony. I have 1 and 1/2 bathrooms (one with a bathtub/shower), a washing machine and dishwasher but I don't have a microwave. We have a great bakery downstairs, fresh markets within walking distance and an inexpensive workout center nearby.

We have had previous volunteers who said that the cost of living here is very inexpensive compared to their home. They went to concerts, movies, the ballet, and out to eat. If you like to go to clubs, we have many! Taxis are cheap ($2.50 from here to the city center) and reliable, public transportation is very cheap and well connected (the stop is right outside the apartment and the costs are literally less than 30 US cents per ride). Near one of the metro stations we have a huge mall (one of several) that has an indoor entertainment complex, indoor skating and a huge selection of fun things to do. There is a hydropark and many many parks to visit for walking and hiking. In every season there is something beautiful to see and fun to do in Kiev!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use