Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 4517
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Not Christmas
Area (ha): 5
Persons: 3
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 4517
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 16, 2012


We have a 12.5 acre smallholding located in a pretty rural hamlet midway between Falmouth and Helston in Cornwall. Approx 2 miles from the nearest main road and 5 miles from the sea. We keep beautiful alpacas plus several free range chickens. We ALWAYS need help with animal husbandry, halter training/walking alpacas, cleaning shorn fleeces, maintaining the vegetable patch and garden, wood cutting, general maintenance, help with cooking etc and we would particularly like an experienced spinner to help with our alpaca fleeces. Future projects include: laying concrete, developing an alpaca poo recycling unit; fencing. On rainy days we try to work indoors i.e. painting or housework. You will be sharing our home with us and our dog and 2 cats. We have 2 neat bedrooms for helpers (1 double, 1 single) or the option of a caravan (summer only). We would normally like helpers to stay for at least 2 weeks, become part of our family and work as part of our team. 9 to 5 cannot apply on a smallholding at this time of year. If you are a clock watcher with strict time constraints, we respect that, but our farm is NOT for you. We are not slave-drivers but it is not a holiday camp either. On days off, you can enjoy a local day trip with us, or alone. There are some nice walks from the farm but our village is very rural with no nightlife. We are strictly non-smoking anywhere on the farm. We can cater for vegetarians and meat-eaters but time does not allow us to cater for any special diets or food allergies. Wireless broadband service available (but due to previous abuse, you must bring your own computer as you cannot use ours). You are invited to be part of the family and we look forward to hearing from you.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use