Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 45208
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1.5
Persons: 1-2 people
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 45208
Region: South Australia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 3, 2018

We are a family of four - Todd, Kate, Wimitja (12) and Kinyin (8). We are in the Adelaide Hills but only 15 - 20 minutes from the city center. Non smokers only. It's a happy spot here!

It is such a perfect time of year here! The hills are very beautiful and autumny with loads of great sunsets and stunning leaves. We are close to the city and a bus route but in the hills with koalas and kangaroos around...

We have been wwoof hosting for many years now and really enjoy sharing life with people from all around the world. Stories, food, work, laughs and all that comes in between. We want to enjoy hosting you and we want you to enjoy being here!

We work on our 3 1/2 acre property with animals, fruit trees, loads of berries, native bush and other garden areas. We are slowly working to make the land and garden more productive and the bush free from ferals.

Todd works with homeless people in the city of Adelaide which is 20 minutes away or 1 hour by bike. Kate is a teacher who works with children and young families in Steiner or Waldorf Education. She volunteers in a variety of community projects as well.

The boys go to a local hills public Steiner Stream school and spend their time with chickens, ducks, rabbit and more.

We enjoy cooking, gardening, preserving food, slow cooking and spending time as a family.

We value community and believe in being part of something bigger than ourselves. We love travel but don't do as much these days and hosting Wwoofers and HelpXers is a way to bring bits and pieces of the world alive in our every day life.

There is a bus from Adelaide to here every day except Saturday and Sunday. Some limited times. Bus number 822 (get off at stop 23 - Uraidla Store where I can pick you up at an arranged time).

If you would like to come and spend time with us we prefer stays of one week - then negotiable. We enjoy people who are self motivated and looking to enjoy their days. We love it if you have great skills but are also fine if you are pretty new to it all but are happy to learn.

Our home is a place for an open mind and complete respect for each person. No drugs, no smoking and no excessive drinking - let's work, learn and enjoy the days together. Everyone helps with cleaning up after meals and preparing food - your gender is irrelevant! If you are interested in gardening, cooking, permaculture, preserving food, community, Steiner or Waldorf education, telling stories and enjoying good food - this could be for you!

The work here is a mix of home and garden and is seasonally dependent - give us a call to see what is happening at the moment. A typical day might include mulching, pruning, weeding, collecting stones for wall building or weaving sticks into fences, planting, preserving seasonal fruit and veg, cleaning and mending in and around the house, etc.

We like to provide a variety of jobs and also work to people's skill set. We would love to host an electrician or plumber or builder!!!

We don't have a television, we don't have wifi and we limit our screen use but there is plug in internet available in the house. Our family prefers to enjoy people and life first hand!

We enjoy eating together and telling stories and laughing over the meal. We love it when visitors want to cook a meal or two using a recipe from their family or home. We eat a small amount of meat but are most happy to cater for vegetarians as Kate until recently was vego!

There is a wealth of things to do around our place in free time - there is a bus to the city to do city based things but we are also close to Mount Lofty, Cleland Wildlife park and our house 5 minutes walk to the Heysen Trail.

You can regularly see kangaroos and koalas in the bush around our property and we back onto Horsnell Gully National Park. There is lots of good bush walking around.

We look for visitors to work 5 hours a day and to negotiate days off in balance with this. We all share preparing for meals and cleaning up afterwards.

Visitors have their own private room and use of the main bathroom (we have an ensuite for us).

We are on tank water and solar heating so visitors must be mindful of water usage. No smokers at all.

Give us a ring or drop us an email and come and maybe we can find a time for you to visit us!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use