Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 45602
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: All year
Area (ha): less than 1
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 45602
Country: Bulgaria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 21, 2018

We are a young (27 and 32) English couple living in Bulgaria for two years. We are completely renovating our house and garden ourselves, and have also set up a small, eco campsite in our adjoining walnut orchard. We are living here with our chickens, our beautiful rescued dog, Lucy, and our lovely cat, Bilko, who are all very friendly and enjoy meeting new people.

3 years ago we travelled through Europe in a campervan and were helpers through Helpx in 5 different countries (including Bulgaria.) The places we visited and the people we met on that journey inspired us to move out here and live a more simple way of life. We are excited to now be on the other side and feel we have learnt from our experiences and will make good hosts!

The past two years we have been working on our home to make it liveable. There is still a long way to go, but at the moment we have 2 bedrooms, a functioning bathroom and a kitchen - however, in the summer months we spend most of our time in the garden.

The plan for this year is to carry on renovations in the lounge area and begin the get the garden organised. We will also be growing vegetables and running the campsite - so there is always plenty of work to do!

Work will vary with the season/what you feel you can help us with - varying from gardening, carpentry, painting, harvesting produce, cooking and almost anything else you can think of. We are not looking for any particular skills, just someone who is enthusiastic and fun to hang out and chat with!

There are also possibilities of house/pet sitting (to give us a chance to have a short holiday!!) Or even a combination of volunteering and sitting, if you would prefer. If sitting then you must have your own vehicle.

Our village is a very quiet, relaxing place. It has a shop and a bar and many beautiful walks in the surrounding countryside. There is a bigger town (Chirpan) 10kms away that has bigger shops, cafes and restaurants and there are also several places nearby to visit as a day trip - one of our favourites being the amazing city of Plovdiv.

There is very limited public transport to our village so having your own vehicle may be useful, however there are many bus and train links to Chirpan from all over Bulgaria, so it is not essential.

If you would like to know more about what we are doing here please feel free to have a look at my blog (find the link in the website area.)

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use