help exchange   Host 45649
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Wells, Somerset
All Year: No
Area (ha): 0 - rural garden
Persons: 1 (or 2 as a couple)
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 45649
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 22, 2016

Hello helpers!

We are a small family of 3 living in the village of Wookey Hole at the foot of the Mendip Hills in Somerset. We have a good sized garden which would love some help with! In exchange we can offer you your own room (small but fine for one person or a couple), 3 meals a day and excursions to explore the local area.

We are ideally situated for many local attractions including Wookey Hole caves (a 10 minute walk down the hill), Glastonbury Tor and town (15 mins drive), Wells - the smallest city in England and home to the magnificent Wells Cathedral (2 miles down the road), Cheddar Gorge (20 mins drive) and numerous breathtaking countryside walks, including to Ebbor Gorge (just walk straight out the front door and up the hill).

One of us works full time and the other works part-time and is a full time mum the rest of the time! This means we don't have as much time for our lovely garden as we'd like so we're looking for someone (preferably a solo traveler but a couple would be fine too) with some gardening and veg growing experience to help us clear 'weeds', dig over the soil, plant seeds and tend to the veg patch as the seasons demand. We'd expect you to tend to the garden and perhaps undertake other household tasks for 4 hours a day and would love to show you round the local area in your spare time. We are of course happy for you to explore the area on your own but if you'd like help we can provide it!

As we have a small child (almost 2 years old) and our home is not big (just the 2 bedrooms), helpers will need to be respectful of our need for relative quiet in the evenings. We wake up early so this homestay would suit an early riser, not a night owl. Aside from the two local pubs, there is very little to do in the evenings so this homestay is all about the day times! We welcome people to stay for a minimum of 2 days but no more than a week. We eat a mostly vegetarian diet but do occasionally eat meat. As our home is rurally located - a 40 minute walk across fields to Wells and the nearest shops - you will be dependent on public transport during your stay, although we are certainly happy to take you on any excisions we plan to join you on (at least a couple if you plan to stay for a week) and will endeavour to assist you during your stay in any way that we can.

If this sounds interesting to you, please do contact us!

Happy helpx-ing!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use