Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 45680
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 40
Persons: 1
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 45680
Region: Auckland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 13, 2018

Looking for someone from 13th January till mid February.
Friendly Kiwi /English couple, who enjoy having overseas visitors.
Do you want a peaceful location, do you want to learn about kiwi life & practice your english?
Required 1 physically strong volunteer for 1-2 weeks who can assist with indoor & outdoor activities. Must include 2 weekends as this is when we work together.
Type of activities you may assist with will include maintaining the vegetable garden, planting vegetable seeds & transplanting seedlings,Pruning trees, processing compost. Learning how to care for chickens. Also sharing in the housework using many homemade natural products which could save you money & the environment in the future. Possibly some furniture painting. Plus dependant on time with us & ability we may be able to teach some Chainsaw, stock fence maintenance & quad bike riding skills.
Our property is located in Whitford, in a lovely rural area approx 30 minutes from Auckland Airport, and 40 minutes drive from Auckland City centre, by car in non rush hour.

We share the farm with extended family in separate dwellings. There is horse grazing, beef cattle, alpacas, chickens, cats & bees on the farm.

Our home is small,warm with a log burner & very homely occupied by Ian an Engineer (Kiwi) & Stephanie a Nurse (English). Our HelpX visitor will have their own bedroom and bathroom. Check out our references from previous volunteers.

We ask you to Volunteer around 28hr total per week & prefer it if you could be available at weekends. We will provide you with all your meals and snacks. You will be expected to make your own breakfast & lunch with food from our home & share the evening meal with us. There is always plenty to eat !!

I like baking so there is usually fresh cake in the house & I preserve much of the garden produce too, so plenty of homemade jam's and relishes & home frozen farm produce. Im very happy to help you learn cooking & preserving skills.

Must have travel insurance as healthcare is expensive & be a NON smoker , NO Drugs

We live approximately a 2km walk from the nearest bus stop which will take you to Botany the nearest town,you can go on to Auckland central from there. Stephanie & Ian can go via Botany 3-4 days per week so are happy to drop our helper off & pick them up in Botany on their way home. There is also a ferry to the CBD about 4km away. However own transport is an advantage.We do have a bicycle you can borrow.

Our volunteers have visited the Sky Tower, Rangitoto Island & Maraetai beach by public transport on their days off & with their own car Piha,Raglan & Hamilton. One keen visitor travelled around Waiheke Island with our bike.
If this sounds like you or you wish to know more please get in touch

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use