help exchange   Host 45705
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Urluia (Adamclisi)
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 45705
Country: Romania

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 3, 2019

I have a small farm that l want to expand and keep as organic as it used to be when my grandparents used to run it. I have little experience in agriculture and am mainly learning on the job.

We offer bed and food to anybody willing to help run the farm. Hours are flexible, but generally 25 hours/week and we take Sundays off for sailing or relaxing. Depending on who is here and what projects we are working on, we sometimes work longer days one day and shorter days another day. We have internet and bathrooms both indoors and outdoors.

We have some animals: pigs, chickens and of course some cats and dogs. So anybody who loves animals and/or vegetables and doesn`t mind getting dirty is welcome. We grow tomatoes, corn, potatoes, zucchini, beans, berries, and more, everything in the spirit of permaculture. So there`s many things to do and many different skills are needed. We also have some community projects such as initiating people to waste sorting and other related products like compost and more. I welcome ideas and feedback from helpers on projects and my main goal is that you have fun. You won`t get bored.

Current projects:
This year we set up a greenhouse and will hopefully be planting some trees, fixing 2 wells, and who knows what else. Many other big projects might pop up any time, but there`s always the day to day maintenance of the farm and machines, which involves weeding, harvesting, mending, painting, building, and much more.

About us:
I am George and after growing up in Belgium, I decided to try my hand at farming a few years back. Also here fulltime is Marie, who was the caretaker of the farm and my grandparents when they were still alive. She still does a lot of the day to day work with the animals and vegetables and cooks us delicious food. In addition to us there are usually other helpers and/or cyclists passing through, so we are a merry bunch.

If you are looking to be immersed in Romanian country life and try your hand at farming, you are most welcome to join. If you have any questions, do not hesitate to ask.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use