Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 46005
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Orkney
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 4
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Accommodation Business
Host ID: 46005
Country: Scotland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 15, 2018

Former smallholding on the Orkney island of Shapinsay, with around ten acres of shoreline, garden and grounds. House contains ensuite guest bedrooms and one for volunteer(s).In the summer Guests come for wildlife, archaeology,etc. and can also do craftwork and artwork,and join in with island life. Volunteers could also do these things year round -- few if any guests in the winter but maintenance and prep need doing.
In return for help volunteers get an ensuite room of their own or two sharing, use of other rooms, meals, lifts to and from the ferry, the opportunity to join in with whatever is going on in the island, and in Kirkwall -- good ferry service. Lots of traditional music -- I can lend instruments, fiddle, guitar, drum.
I am looking for helpers from now and throughout the summer for maintenance jobs inside and outside, cooking for me and helper(s). I would like to form a HelpX work party in SEPTEMBER to attempt a bigger project, partial demolition of a Nissen hut. Contact me if you have any experience relevant to this, and /or if you are strong and capable of thinking things through, problem solving.
Sometimes I need a dog sitter for my lively and loving young collie, Pal. All helpers must be okay with dogs. Pal is not difficult and most of the time is a delight. Anyone dog sitting will have the use of my car to explore Shapinsay and also as a dog kennel: Pal is always happy in it. It is very quiet on the island, 320 folk but no pub and my house has no near neighbours, 2 km from the ferry. There is a shop and a cafe, and various community activities in the summer months.If it sounds like your scene message me!

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use