Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 46016
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Aviemore
All Year: March to November
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 1-3
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 46016
Country: Scotland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 15, 2018

Space available in both AUGUST and SEPTEMBER 2018


We are located 2 miles north of the popular ski and all year mountain resort of AVIEMORE, in the highlands of Scotland.

Our croft is about 1/2 an acre. We have the 2 bedroom house, an outside Summerhouse, small caravan (all for helper accommodation), a small wildlife pond, a recently finished greenhouse from reclaimed windows. At the end of the property there is a woodwork shop - garage, co existing with accommodation for 2 guests. Which we rent out for the summer months.

We are looking for an extra hand or two around our place. Helping with the day to day tasks, change overs in the guesthouse, tending the greenhouse and garden, child minding while we do it!, landscaping, splitting logs and stacking, building interesting structures! It's a broad range of work typically outside.

I (Alex) also travel to my family's hill farm to partake in general farm tasks. I also walk the Cairngorm Mountains tending my family's Herd of reindeer in the summer months. Also i do general building work locally for a living. dry stone dyking, shed building, concreting, path building, fencing. You can be involved in these activity's too if you wish.

Jobs are mainly outside.

We expect you to work for 5 hours a day for 5 days a week. However, optional days out in the hills and over at the farm can be longer!

Volunteer accommodation is a 2 berth caravan at the end of our garden and an insulated Summer House. Food is provided, porridge for breakfast, generally meat produced on the farm and depending on the season greens from the garden.

We are looking for individuals who can look after themselves, are self motivated (don't mind getting on with things on their own) and friendly. A higher level of fitness and/or willingness is required to look for reindeer!

I live with my wife Emily and 6 month old son Hamish. We are both in our early 30's. We have a dog, Tip and a wee flock of hens.

Both Emily and I have travelled the world extensively and now enjoying hosting travellers as we are more tied down these days...


Please get in touch and i can send you more information of what to expect. Thanks

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use