Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 46117
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


richmond hill
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): .12
Persons: 1 to 2.
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 46117
Region: Ontario

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 5, 2018

We are a light hearted couple who live in a funky house in Richmond Hill, Ontario. We both love to cook, and enjoy learning new things from travellers. We are just off of Yonge Street, which is a direct line to downtown Toronto, or to cottage country, by public busses or GO train. Steps to a local bus stop, and steps to hiking trails, two big ponds with skating in winter, and swans in summer, plus concerts in the park, pubs and restaurants, and cultural activities galore. We also have a world class live theatre (Richmond Hill Performing Arts Centre), and many other recreational venues close by.

We are usually looking for help for no more than two weeks at a time, but we are flexible depending. It is sometimes a lot more. If you are looking for shorter or longer, we can discuss, as sometimes it just works out. You need to be mature, self motivated, and able to work without constant supervision.

We are looking for help both outside and inside.
Inside is organizing art materials, antique books and ephemera, scanning, as well as housekeeping, and helping out with laundry if we have an Air B and B guest. There are many items to be posted online, and organized as well.

Outside,in summer, we are landscaping, tree pruning, orchid care (we have many varieties of orchids we move and repot), and small building projects. We are building a shed and fixing up a playhouse and some other property maintenance activities, including a new roof soon. If you have any skills in these areas, great, or if you are keen to learn, Fraser is an excellent guy to learn from, and Mari has been a high school art teacher for 26 years.

Our house is usually quite an interesting mix of friends, music and dogs at times. We have a really freindly community. We are flexible with hours and work arrangements, it will depend on time of year, and your area of interest or experience. We usually expect about 4\5 hours a day, 5 days, and will feed you very well.

If you have a work visa, we can sometimes find you some extra cash. We have a pool and pond and landscaping business that operates from April to October, as well as the art business, and interior painting and Reno’s.

We offer high speed wireless internet, a flat screen tv in your room with Netflix and Apple TV, a separate entrance, use of mountain bikes, laundry, etc., and we are happy to have you join us on expeditions to the city or country if timing is right.

We have a small red rescue named Mister Quivers (very friendly), so no dog allergies, and please no cologne or perfume, as we are allergic. And no smoking please.

If you are a musician, and\or artist, or just enjoy listening, viewing, etc., we have many instruments, including a baby grand piano, and opportunities to play or listen available at times. It`s always interesting.

We have also helped many helpers move to Toronto, helping them find housing and\or jobs, and connected them with some great people.
It`s a very big city, and we know it very well.
Cheers, Mari and Fraser

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use