Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 4620
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: From May 2009
Area (ha): 1,5
Persons: 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 4620
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 20, 2011

We live in an English country house in an area of outstanding natural beauty, within easy reach of the Ashdown Forest, which is a vast heathland and nature reserve, a nature lover's paradise.
The property is surrounded by various organically maintained gardens. Recently I have embarked on developing a honeybee sanctuary, an on-going project, input from others very welcome! There is also a small flock of much-loved and very handsome Jacob sheep and a horse who lives nearby and may be taken out in beautiful riding country by experienced riders.
We enjoy sharing our beautiful home (and the work entailed!) with others and welcome anyone who is willing to put in 24 hours of help in return for board and lodging.
There is always work in the garden, such as planting, pruning, mowing and weeding. People with garden design experience or interest very welcome. Right now (winter) I would be particularly interested in someone who could help keep house and cook.
In spring and early summer you may, if you wish, become involved in caring for my bees, here and elsewhere. Helpers live with us in the house, usually in splendid isolation in a separate wing with its own bathroom etc., in peaceful rooms. Meals (vegetarian only) are usually prepared and shared with family and friends.
There is a broadband connection for all rooms and all the usual technical facilities.
Please only apply if you have either good domestic skills, or else have experience in garden maintenance, in handling tools and lawnmowers, as well as a sense of initiative. An interest in holistic beekeeping would be great, too, but is not essential.
There are bus connections to nearby towns, possibilities of English classes, and various anthroposophical training institutions and biodynamic farms close by. This makes for an unusually diverse cultural programme with a great variety of music, storytelling, courses, lectures etc., in the context of a quiet country setting.
London is one hour away by train, and the coast is about an hour in the opposite direction.
Please send a c.v. and foto with details of your previous experience and skills, as well as references, if you might like to come here. We look forward to hearing from you.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use