help exchange   Host 4624
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Subang Jaya
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0
Persons: 1
Category: Other
Host ID: 4624
Country: Malaysia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 14, 2018

This is as different from a farm stay as you could get! We are an hour (by public transport) from the centre of Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. We were in the UK previously.

I am a freelance Content Writer (sometimes copy too), Proofreader and Copy-Editor (Google me), offering writing services to authors and businesses. My wife Yi Vei works full-time too.

I offer to host people for mini apprenticeships (internships) of between four and eight days, negotiable, during which time they will help me either directly or indirectly; they will then receive a reference which can be helpful should they wish to take up a career in publishing or writing.

People would help me for between four and six hours, six days per week (or about 80-85% of the number of days they are here), in ways which might include: web and phone research; typing; data input; teaching me admin procedures, Database, accounts software, accounts, maybe translating to your language. Laundry, cleaning and cooking too, so lots of variety!

Don't worry if you're not experienced in all of these things. There's a chance I might also be able to get you involved in the creative process in some way.

I might sometimes ask you to get shopping, do bicycle maintenance and odd spontaneous things. You might also wish to meditate and/or do yoga with us. I'm an occasionally beer-drinking Buddhist, which I won't talk about unless you ask me :)

We would get on with people who are sensitive/ creative (could mean good at problem-solving), reasonably early sleepers (before 12.00 a.m. mostly), non-smokers, people who are into spirituality, and those who can manage not to bang doors/toilet seats late at night or very early.

You would have your own small room with en-suite bathroom, and/or you could use our living room as your space as well (you'd need to see it).

I've had around 100 couchsurfers staying with me since April 2007, all at my previous flat; it was smaller!

There'll be time to see and do things here, and I enjoy showing people around. You can have your own space, or meet couchsurfers who are in town, my friends etc. You may borrow one of my bicycles.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use