Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 46696
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: No
Area (ha): 3,5
Persons: 4
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 46696
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 13, 2017

We are Axel (from the Netherlands) & Sandrine (from Belgium), and we live in Spain (in Matarranya, close to the border with Catalunya) where we have bought a "finca" - a piece of old farmland. It mainly has olive & almond trees.
The house is completely off the grid (solar electricity, water from our well and from rainwater catchment) and we aspire to transform our finca into a permaculture-inspired haven: a self-sustaining farm and rural retreat. In summer, we have (paid) guests in our bed & breakfast.

We have 2 dogs (one big & one small), 4 alpacas, an old cat and a bunch of chickens - we also hatch chicks to add to our flock.

We eat meat at times (not daily), but we're happy to cook vegetarian while you're here - or to share the cooking of course. We both love to cook, and I (Sandrine) also love baking, preserving, and doing fun things with produce from the garden.

We have a B&B called "Mas del Encanto" and a blog called "Simple Living in Spain".

If you are outgoing and have a positive attitude, not afraid to get your hands dirty and want to experience life off the grid; if you've either got certain skills already or are willing to learn - you might be who we're looking for.

We would like to welcome people who want to live "the off-grid experience"; we think living off the grid and working on our dream is the best thing in the world.

On working days, we typically work in the morning, share lunch together and then you have afternoons & evenings off. We spend most of the time at the finca though - so unless you have your own car or bike, be prepared to spend a lot of time in the peace and quiet of the countryside.

Ideally and unless you're coming for a certain project, you'd stay here for about 2-3 weeks; we could discuss you staying longer (maybe under other conditions) when you're here - we don't like to commit to that with people we've never met though.
We're not generally looking for people to stay less than 2 weeks, and we're not hosting volunteers around big holidays (Christmas, Easter) as that's when our B&B is fully booked.

In summer, you'd be staying in the converted stable we lived in before our house was ready - it has running water, a wood stove, a double gas burner for cooking and its own solar electricity system - and there is small wooden bathroom building with composting toilet and solar heated water one terrace below. There is no WiFi in the maset, you would have to come up to the house to check e-mails. This is not for you if you have to be online 24/7.

Between November and March, you can stay in a guest room of our bed & breakfast.

We are 2,5 hours from Barcelona and Valencia, 1,5 hours from Zaragoza and Reus airport, and there is a direct bus from Barcelona to the neighbouring town of Calaceite. There are several villages within 5-10 minutes driving.

Please contact us for more details, we'd love to hear from you!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use