Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 46805
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Cesky Krumlov
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 46805
Country: Czech Republic

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 4, 2018


We are looking for people to help out in and around the house, primarily in the garden (where there is a small garden house ruin which could use some - ok, actually a lot of - fixing) and inside with smaller chores.

Outdoor tasks would include: chopping wood, planting and caring for a small vegetable garden, trimming plants / trees, cutting the grass, and (if you possess the necessary skills) perhaps also building a small but long fence. And the aforementioned ruin, which is a small house which we would like to fix up but don't really know where to start, ...

Indoor tasks would include: minor cleaning (removal of spider webs in high up places), cleaning windows, and again (if you have the necessary skills) fixing up the downstairs bathroom (new tiles).

The house is approx. 500 years old, with a terraced garden looking out over a river, just steps away from the historic center of town.
The house is occupied by my father, but I will be your main contact person for any questions regarding tasks, logistics, accommodation, etc. My father's name is Honza, he is a retired designer / artist and speaks Czech, English, Bulgarian and German. He very much enjoys meeting people from different backgrounds and learning about their culture. He is a great cook and conversationalist.

You will be accommodated in an unusual room where one wall is a cliff. It is a bit cooler there than in the rest of the house, but floor heating is available. There you will have a sofa bed, which can sleep one or two people (couples are welcome). You can use the WiFi in the house. There are no pets and smoking is only permitted outside.

My father will be able to cook you breakfast. Lunch and dinner might be provided at times. It would be great if you could put in about 4-5 hours per day, weekends are free.

The town of Cesky Krumlov is a small but lively place, with only about 16 000 inhabitants living in the old town but millions of tourists visiting each year. It is the most visited place in the Czech Republic following Prague and Karlovy Vary. Cesky Krumlov has a fairly big - and very charming - medieval old town boasting one of the largest castle complexes in central Europe. The town is surrounded by rolling hills and forests. The Vltava river flows through Cesky Krumlov and in summer is full of rafts, canoes, kayaks and the like. Due to large numbers of tourists visiting Cesky Krumlov, you can get by with English in most stores and restaurants. On your weekends off you can easily visit Prague or Vienna, which are both approx. 3 hours away by bus / train.

We are very new to helpx, so if you think we have forgotten anything in the description above then please just ask, and we will update as we go along.

Looking forward to welcoming our first helpers!!

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use