Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 46880
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Barkers Creek
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 30
Persons: 2 or more
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 46880
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 30, 2016

We live on 77 partially forested, hilltop acres, full of kangaroos, wallabies, echidnas and native birds. The township of Castlemaine is only 11 km away (and where we will be collecting you from the train station). Historic gold mining towns are nearby where you can explore our Gold Rush history.
Our home is quaint and rustic. We live in a passive solar mud brick/stone house, fueled by solar power and have an outdoor composting toilet. We drink rainwater and water our garden from our dams. Water is always an issue where we live and we would expect all HelpXers to respect water saving practices, e.g. having 3 minute showers.
Our garden is organic and we grow vegetables, herbs, fruit trees, and keep chickens and bees.
We are professional teachers and work part time. Mischa plays the didgeridoo, is the garden guru and Catherine makes hand knitted garments from handspun yarn prepared from raw fleeces and tends the bees and chickens.
We both speak fluent German, and Catherine can understand Hungarian and Icelandic too. We are well travelled, and have grown up children, who visit occasionally. We've also been part of the WWOOF organisation for many years and have experience with hosting.

Jobs include gardening, weeding, cutting wood, fire prevention measures, helping with beekeeping, clearing paths, preparing wool fleeces for spinning, housework and small building projects working with timber, steel and stone. We expect you to work for approx 4 hours per day and have a good work ethic, in exchange for good accomodation and 3 healthy meals a day.
In your own time, you may enjoy learning textile crafts: spin wool on a spindle, knit or crochet, or learn to play the didgeridoo, swim at the local reservoir in the summer, cycle to town, hike through the bush or simply enjoy the quiet, country atmosphere. We live 11km from the train station and do not leave our property on a daily basis. Having your own vehicle would be an advantage or use of our bicycles is available for local trips to town or to catch the train to explore Bendigo.

Accommodation is in the recently renovated caravan or hut. We prefer couples or good friends (to share accommodation) and small groups are welcome too for short stays. Longer stays are negotiable. We provide a mixed or vegetarian diet but no special diets and occasionally you’ll be expected to cook your own dinner. WiFi is also available, but we turn it off during the night. Strictly no smoking and no drugs. We are a pet free household.

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use