help exchange   Host 46980
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 8
Persons: 1-4
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 46980
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 30, 2016


We have a small farm/horse stud in the Yarra Valley. The property was destroyed by bushfires in 2009 and has mostly been rebuilt, but much of the landscaping still needs work.

We have five Riding Ponies (horses).


We would LOVE an experienced horseperson to help with them as several are young and need handling/breaking.

There is no riding available currently (although we may be able to take experienced riders out with friends).

You do not need horse experience to stay with us. The horses are friendly, but you won't work with them unless you are experienced.

General farm/garden laboring for 3-5 hours a day (5 days) is expected, but very flexible. Work includes chopping firewood, weeding, clearing scrub, laying gravel on the driveway, gardening etc., or working with the horses if you have the experience.


Accommodation is in the main house. Robyn lives alone and sometimes her adult daughters come down from the city on weekends/holidays. There are two bedrooms with their own bathroom for helpers in one end of the house. The house is new and modern with heating/air-conditioning and an wood-burning fireplace for the cold winter nights!

Helpers have full access to the kitchen and laundry of course and food is provided although you will have to cook some of your own meals.

We have wifi, but you should not expect to be able to stream video. Cell reception is patchy in the area.


Helpers may have access to the car to get into town or to the train station to get to the city. But your own car is ideal. The location will feel very isolated if you are from a city, however it is not isolated by Australian standards.

The nearest town is 3km away and has a pub and a small general store. The nearest big town (with a supermarket and shops) is a 20-30min drive.

Melbourne is approximately 90 minutes away by car. There is a bus once per day, the closest stop is ~6km from the property. There is a regular train to Melbourne from Lilydale, which is 45 mins drive from the property.

If you stay with us, we will pick you up from the train station in Lilydale - it is possible to use public transit to get there from Melbourne Airport.

Hitchhiking is not common in the area, but should be safe.


The property is very close to Lake Mountain ski resort (x-country only) for those here in the winter. There is some of the best bushwalking, mountain biking and rock-climbing in Australia nearby. If you are a rockclimber, the Cathedral Ranges are only 20 mins from the house.


You may be able to find seasonal paid work on other farms in the area if you want to do paid work as well. There is fruit-picking in March-May and some work on the mountain in winter.


We can accommodate groups of up to 4 people.

Couples, groups and single travelers are also welcome. All residents of the house are women, which might suit solo female travelers.

Dogs are welcome but the property is not fenced on all borders.

Smoking is okay outside.
Vegetarians/Vegans are welcome - although Robyn eats meat.

LGBTI/Rainbow friendly

Robyn only speaks English so you must have enough English for basic communication.

**Please be aware that it is very hot here outside in summer and cold in winter. In summer it will be 40 C / 110 F and in winter it will be 0 C / 32 F at night.**

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use