Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 4710
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: April to October
Area (ha): 0.6
Persons: 1
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 4710
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 10, 2013

Hi all,
We are looking for single females resident in the UK to become trusted house sitters for the occasional weekend or week on our small holding.This may be done sometimes with our 16 year old daughter or on your own. In the winter there will be dogs to walk, cats to feed and the four goats to manage. As well as getting the geese(5 of them)up and putting them to bed in the evening.Summer time there will be some watering in the polytunnel and green house, fruit harvesting and processing as well as the above mentioned animal care.But that is all we ask. We will leave food and the use of the house in exchange for your trusted care of our property.

A trip to stay for a weekend or a few days is essential to start with so you can see if this place is for you.
Below is the decription of our place when we took helpers for longer times.Our references are from these people. This is the first time we have asked specifically for house sitters and are hoping to find a trustworthy fun person who can get some enjoyiment out of our place while we are visiting relatives or are just getting away for a few days.

Hello! We are a family of four living on a small holding of about 1 acre, which is part of the permaculture LAND project, in a rural village(no shops).One adult is at home full time and one works part time in a school. The two children are at secondary school.

We grow fruit and vegetables and keep a few chickens and geese for eggs, bees for wax and honey(using vertical top bar hives), and goats for milk, yogurt, cheese and lawn mowing duty.Worms for compost. Most of the produce is consumed by the family with some being sold at a local market.The food garden is 100 metres by 20 metres, using semi raised beds, no dig,mulching, seed saving,perennial and annual plants, polyculture,and other methods not always seen in conventional food growing gardens.We try to use as much of the resources found in the area to keep the garden fertile as we can, so there is a fair amount of scything and mulching done in the summer months. We use wood fired heaters to heat water and the house when needed, as well as having solar water heating, and solar PV panels.We also have built a rocket stove, rocket oven,rocket bath and hay box, in a simple outdoor kitchen for when the weather is good.This means there is always some kind of firewood processing to be done.
There are two smallish dogs that live here and we walk to the beach everyday. Sometimes we all go but sometimes just one of us. We do not have set hours of work because our life is not like that, the geese will not go to bed at 5pm everyday and the grass doesn't stop growing just because it is the weekend.Having said this, we realise the importance of personal limits and needs
In terms of lifestyle, we live simply, enjoying good food,walks on the beach with the dogs, playing games, and the occasional sing-a-long. Food is mainly veggie and vegan because that is what we grow,although we will eat the occassional local rabbit, or fish caught from the beach.
We don't do any drugs, including alcohol or nicotine, and only consume a small amount of caffiene.We are very keen on developing a healthy diet, and although our diet is not perfect we are working towards improving it. We try to go to bed early and get up early.We talk openly about ourselves and each other and encourage our helpers to do the same.
In terms of location, we live in a rural setting surrounded by fields(although we do have nieghbours) and a 15 minute walk from a beautiful Sand dune and coastal national nature reserve which we try to get to every day. The nearest town is 3 miles away.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use