Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 47294
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Veliko Tarnovo
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): .50
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 47294
Country: Bulgaria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 9, 2018

We are an English couple in our early 50s who are living in a very quiet village of around 100 people. Our mission is to invite people of all nationalities to revitalise the village and turn it into a thriving community again. There is a disused bakery here, there was a restaurant and dairy but they are now closed down. There are many houses for sale at very low prices and we are currently talking with the Green Party about help with this idea including working out our aims, rules, advertising, memberships etc.
We have two cats, five hens. We have turned part of the garden into a flowers, herbs and relaxation area complete with small pond, half the land for growing vegetables and have a half acre of lucerne as food for the animals. We make our own grape wine every year plus some fruit rakia.
We have renovated our house now. We have our own well for garden water and have a completed shower room/toilet and one other is nearly finished. Accommodation is simple and comfortable, but if you have any building, plastering, gardening skills you'd be welcome. Weeding, watering and basic animal care skills are all you need for two or three hours per day and we work when you do.
I enjoy fishing in the local lakes where you can go for a swim if you like when it gets hot. It gets very warm here in summer time and we have lovely cold winters.
We love food and enjoy curries, food from the garden and locally produced seasonal food. We have hosted a few karaoke nights and we enjoy music- everything from rock to Pink Floyd to dance and chillout.
The lovely city of Veliko Tarnovo is only an hour bus ride away (very cheap fare!) where you can sample the many delights of Bulgarian culture and this area is great for walks underneath the big sky.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use