Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 47316
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Meistervik
All Year: all year
Area (ha): 200
Persons: 3-4
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 47316
Country: Norway

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 19, 2018

We are in need of helpers urgently, from May 27th!

General description:

We are a young family of 5, Sarah (37), Tino (36), Nemi (9), Kalle (7) and Ilya (2). Living in northern Norway. Sarah is a veterinarian, Tino is a taxidermist, both are working at Malangseidet, approximately 1 km from the farm. Høier was established in 1935 as a dairy farm but all farming was abandoned in the early 1970s. We bought Høier in 2016 and re-established farming focussing on Old Norse Sheep for meat production. During the recent two years we re-built fences, re-established pasture and grasslands and changed the cow shed into a sheep shed. Re-establishing Høier is a progress that will last for more years to come, while farming grows increasingly professional. 

Tasks: We are predominantly looking for helpers who share our enthusiasm for farming, outdoors work and working smaller tasks into a larger goal. We have very practical tasks to fulfil that fit into the annual schedule and appreciate helpers with practical experience. In summer 2018, we will work up three larger areas (previously shrub forest) into grasslands. This work will include a lot of machine work as driving the excavator and tractor but also labour as stone and root picking and laying drainage pipes. There is also an additional area that needs to be cleared of trees.

Qualifications: We were looking for people who like working outdoors, are active and have an eye for the tasks that need to be done on a farm. As Sarah and Tino are often working with tasks related to their additional businesses, helpers must be able to work independently and have to take responsibility. In addition to larger tasks as mentioned above, helpers have to look after chickens and rabbits on the farm. During most of the year, looking after our 3 year old son Ilya will be an important tasks of the work, too. For that reason, we do not accept helpers younger than 20 years. Great help would be helpers who can drive the tractor or excavator, who like to work with or repairing machinery, who can handle a chain saw or have experience with carpentry and construction. However, we also have tasks for people who don't have such experiences but still enjoy an active life style. Such tasks may be removing old and building new fences, clearing shrubs and smaller trees, cleaning and feeding, handling the horses and spending time together with our son Ilya. Ilya has been looked after by various helpers for the last 2 years. He is growing up learning three languages (Norwegian, German and English) and we would like to ensure this development further. So, native English speakers welcome :)

All new helpers get training in the tasks to be done as well as in tool use. We are interested in teaching the whole picture of the tasks (why is what done, how and when) to ensure understanding of the tasks. Helpers live in their own guest house and prepare food for themselves. Twice the week we have diner all together to get to know each other outside the working hours. Working days start at 08:00 finishing at 16:00 with lunsj break 12:00-13:00. Weekends are off. Free of use are bicycles and rowing boat with simple fishing gear (both in summer), skiing and snowboarding gear in winter, fire place and barbeque shelter in the forest. Internet is available but slow.

Additional possibilities: On earlier occasions, creative persons or helpers with a background in arts have been given the possibility to to help in Tino's taxidermy workshop. Others, who enjoyed assisting in our vet-clinic were given that opportunity. If either of these options is something you are looking for, please state that explicitly in your request. Find more information on our FB-pages “Malangen Veterinærkontor”, “Naturdesign Tino Schott” (www.naturdesign.no) and “Høier Gård”.

Practical information:
Shop at Meistervik: 8 km, airport in Tromsø: 60 km, fjord: 1 km, neighbour: 200 m, great possibilities for hiking, riding, fishing, outdoors activities.

Travel:
Take the plane to Tromsø where we will pick you up from the airport. There is bus shuttle between Tromsø and Malangseidet two times per day.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use