Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Host 47475
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 47475
Country: Wales

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 20, 2017

Come and enjoy a peaceful rural retreat in our painted caravan ( see photo) it is very simple with just a bed and a little woodburner. We live on a South facing smallholding 1400' high in the Welsh Cambrian mountains, we also have a bell tent ( see photo) to stay in during the summer months up on the terraces if you prefer more privacy or if there are more people staying. The caravan sleeps one person or a couple (one double bed) We now have another caravan with a double bed which hasn't yet been painted or converted, it still has gas heating and an electric light.
Washing facilities are in our family house and there is a separate toilet ( flushed using a bucket of water) in the studio. We cook in the kitchen in our family house, and eat communally, we are also building an outside kitchen. We eat together outside mostly in the summer and in the family house when it's colder.
We are looking for people to stay here on a short term basis who want to be outside in nature and want the opportunity of doing physical work in a beautiful environment. We welcome people who are cooperative minded and feel that they have something to contribute to this beautiful sanctuary.
If you are interested please contact us to arrange a skype so that you can 'meet' us, ask us questions and us you to make sure that we are a good match.
There is always a variety of work to do and we love to match your skills so that you can contribute in areas that you enjoy. You will need to be able to work alone quite a bit and with initiative, and be able to communicate clearly with us, so that we can make sure your needs are met and likewise ours. We're at the stage of establishing gardens, bramble clearing, making steps and maintenance work on barns, including painting and decorating work inside and out. There is a multitude of repair and maintenance jobs and we are doing a huge decluttering, reorganising and tidy of the woodworking barn and generally around the place. There's the opportunity for creatives to design and beautify an area if they wish. We welcome people who who enjoy the karma yoga of the physical work it takes to live in a rural place. We have ducks, hens, rabbits, guineapigs and a dog and an abundance of wildlife with woods and hills all around to walk in. We are a home educating family with children at home aged 14 and 11 and welcome people confident in including children in gardening and outside activities.
There is loads of outside work everywhere! And also decorating and carpentry work indoors. This year we're looking for help clearing up the barns and gardens, maintenance work like varnishing wood frame windows, tidying, clearing and decluttering, cleaning and organising spaces, gutting and fitting a stove in the caravan, lots of general tidying up of the place,cooking (we absolutely love to have good cooks!),working in the garden,playing football with our 11 year old...the work changes with the seasons and the weather, we like people to choose work from a selection of things we suggest and then complete it. This might be maintenance work it could be beautification of the place, all contributions are welcome and valid. Sometimes there is work that needs to be done urgently and that then takes precedent. Please be honest with us about what you would like to gain from the experience so that we can support you to get the most out of your time with us.
The place is ideal for those that seek peace, rest and recharge, it is really peaceful and beautiful here and you will have lots of time alone to benefit from the tranquility and safety of the sanctuary. It is a good mix of dipping into a busy family life ad having solitude within nature. We have a large studio space with woodburner which you can use with a large window with great views. It is a perfect place for writers and quiet reflection, we have a great library of books, Incredible unpolluted night skies (there's no street lamps, traffic or roads-we live down a half mile track) utter silence (except for nature) and great views. Pure spring water and great walks with 360 views as well as woodland. Owls, buzzards, kites, badgers, foxes, hares and clean air!
We generally ask for 4 hours work a day, or 28 hours a week (arranged to suit us and yourself so you can get whole days off to go and explore) in exchange for staying here and providing your food. We will have at least one communal shared meal together each day and we will provide food for your other smaller meals. We expect our visitors to muck in and help with helping to prepare food, share some cooking and help clear away at mealtimes-separate from the hours helping. We also have a washing machine for a weekly wash of your clothes. At the moment we are sorry but we can't facilitate anyone with very young children or pets.
We're 4 miles from Llanidloes, Powys, a buzzing small market town with a Saturday market. It has a great vegetarian cafe, wholefood shop. organic veg shop, independent book shop and other lovely little shops, national quilt centre, lots of pubs, some with live music a sports centre with a swimming pool and the river Severn. The nearest train station is Caersws, Powys, with direct lines to Aberystwth and the seaside and waterfalls less than an hour away, and also to Birmingham in the other direction for connections to main cities/airports etc. Nearby there is also horseriding and the Elan Valley and watersports on lakes.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use